Fordmods Logo

Trip computer installation 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 23 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Trip computer installation
Posted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 10:55 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 20

Joined: 24th Sep 2005

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Hi guys

I have just bought an trip computer off ebay and i was wondering if anyone out there can install it for me.? I have an EL GLI, and I know you have to add 3 wires but i am not sure what wires to buy and the connectors you have to use to plug the wires in. I have seen people do it to many GLI's and i want the same done to mine. I live in the Ipswich Queensland area, so if anyone has done this to their car, could you reply back and cash or beer will be offered, and will go on from there :wink:

I was going to do it myself, but i am not all that good with wiring, so i need some expert help on this one. :(
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 12:42 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

have you read the tech document on here? look thru the main site...

from what ive been told its fairly simple.

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 2:53 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Ok I had the Futura so was easier for me (clock plug) but I will help you.

I used 12mm speaker wire to run the data cable to the RHS CLuster pin. It holds up well, also runs soem other electrical parts in the car (low washer sensor, speakers, lights). You need one going to earth and one going to power.

Check it out here mate:
http://www.fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=32
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 3:07 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 5313

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Surf, Turbo Diesel

Location: Melbourne, S.E Suburbs
VIC, Australia

mate its simple...
even i can do it (shut the f**k up people)

I have no idea what mm wires ya need...
but thins good...
to connect them into the plug.. strip wire back about an inch, maybe tad more.. twist it.. and fit it through the little hole... there two holes on the plug for each pin.. looks like this :::::::::: but the pins only go into the top one or what ever..
twist the wire and stick it in the right #'d hole and bend it around and stick it through the other whole on same #....
and when you want to connect it to a power source.. f**k easy.... find one of the power wires... think you can use dimister.. and use one of those connect things where you can put your wire in the hole.. and put the devide over the other wire.. crimp the thing down and the power goes through both wires...
and viola, ya done..

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 3:12 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

chunkz wrote:
mate its simple...
even i can do it (shut the f**k up people)


Urge to comment rising....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 3:33 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2449

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EB-s

Location: Manjimup
WA, Australia

Hahaha, yes, indeed, but hey, we learn by our mistakes?

 

_________________

The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 10:43 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Andrew J wrote:
Hahaha, yes, indeed, but hey, we learn by our mistakes?
Yes very true, I too am guilty of making silly mistakes. I jsut never told anyone about them!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 6:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6432

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Do tell...

 

_________________

5.6L of carbon footprint.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 6:46 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

What parts do you want to hear?

I never did anything like Chunkz, just silly things like one time when the dash was off i forgot to plug eveerything back in before I put it back together.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 6:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6432

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Go on.

 

_________________

5.6L of carbon footprint.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 6:53 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 20

Joined: 24th Sep 2005

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Thanks guys for all of your replies. Everyone makes this job look so easy, but i will give it a go. Knowing me i probably f**k it up, but i have the doc that twirqurky sent me, and it is prety straight forward.

So i will find some good spearker wire, roughly the same size as the wires in the car now follow the instructions in the doc and what chunkz said to do.

P.S If i blow up the car i will let you know; lol
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:08 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

MAte its easy took me about 1hr and thats back when I had no idea aboutt he car.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 9:28 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 20

Joined: 24th Sep 2005

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Hey, does anyone know what wires (eg amp rating) i should use for aditional 3 wires i need for the trip computer?
Also chunkz could you explain in more detail about the power source? Do you join the wires in the demister from the trip computer, or can you use a spare hole and connect it that way, by buying those pins you crimp the wires to and clipping it to the plug? Has anyone got any pics of how they have wired the TC, so i can do the same?
Sorry about all the questions, but i just want to get it right, cause this is my first attempt at it
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 9:40 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I didnt use any specific amp rating cable; just normal, speaker wire. Its how all my aftermarket electrics are done.

Run one cable from the pin1 on the TC to pin 14 on the RHS of the cluster pins. This gives the TC the data to display for you.

To illuminate hte digits: run a wire form pin 6 to the brown wire behind hte rear demistor loom.

To make the numbers dim (I think its advisable): run a wire form Pin 7 to the brown wire behind the rear demsiter loom. You cannot run this wire to the cig lighter since it doesnt dim.


Follow those instructions and you should be right.

NB: Taken straight from doco.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 9:48 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

I'll do it for you, only $50 + $1,200 for my time and fuel.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:29 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names