Fordmods Logo

Trip computer range now reads 0 constantly. 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Trip computer range now reads 0 constantly.
Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 12:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1228

Joined: 5th Mar 2006

Gallery: 25 images

Ride: FALCON EB TURBO, EL XR6

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Well the other day i was driving the EL XR and ran her right down to almost empty. The trip computer read zero just as i pulled up at the servo. As i was going away on holidays i only put $20 in her which took me to just under 1/4 of a tank. I still haven't filled up yet but for the last 6 or so times ive driven the car the trip computer still reads zero in the range. Every time i start it it keeps beeping 0 range even though i have between 1/4 and empty.

Will this go back to normal when i fill it up? Anyone else had this issue?

Thanks in advance.

 

_________________

FALCAHOLIC

IF AT FIRST YOU DON'T SUCCEED
DESTROY ALL EVIDENCE THAT YOU EVEN TRIED


Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Trip computer range now reads 0 constantly.
Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 12:50 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 59

Posts: 36

Joined: 16th Jun 2006

Location: Laidley
QLD, Australia

Hi Flash,

I've had this happen a few times now. I have found if I disconnect the battery for about 30 mins then reconnect it then it will read correct. Anyway thats what worked for me.

Stan
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Trip computer range now reads 0 constantly.
Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 2:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 686

Joined: 11th Sep 2008

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

filling it up will fix this quicker than waiting for it to come back.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Trip computer range now reads 0 constantly.
Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 2:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Have you tried holding reset for a few seconds when on the DTE display?

That can also work. It normally only resets when it detects a full fuel load
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Trip computer range now reads 0 constantly.
Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 5:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1833

Joined: 3rd May 2007

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: AUII XR6 Uterus

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

damn millenium bug.......... lol

 

_________________

Not to get technical, but according to chemistry alcohol is a solution.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Trip computer range now reads 0 constantly.
Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 6:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1228

Joined: 5th Mar 2006

Gallery: 25 images

Ride: FALCON EB TURBO, EL XR6

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Nigel wrote:
Have you tried holding reset for a few seconds when on the DTE display?

That can also work. It normally only resets when it detects a full fuel load


Ive tried holding the reset button but to no avail, it looks like i may have to bite the bullet and fill her up. If that doesn't work disconnect the battery for a while.

 

_________________

FALCAHOLIC

IF AT FIRST YOU DON'T SUCCEED
DESTROY ALL EVIDENCE THAT YOU EVEN TRIED


Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 11:01 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names