Fordmods Logo

turning back k's 

 

Page 1 of 5 [ 71 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

 
 Post subject: turning back k's
Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 1:25 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 69

Joined: 2nd Feb 2005

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

how do u turn back kilometers on a el ghia?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 1:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 657

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Location: Eastern Suburbs
VIC, Australia

u don't

 

_________________

2003 BA XR6T 5spd Manual PHANTOM
Custom Leather, 20" Kaotiks, Lowered, Exhaust, DVD System, BOV
Plenty more to come!

Member: Team Can't Stop The Doof Doof

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 1:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

You cant, and I hear that if you fit a new cluster with say lower k's on it, the ECU just sets it back to what it was.

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 1:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

Sexual favours at your local Ford dealer.... failing that... you dont

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 1:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Just like in Ferris Buellers Day off mate. Jack it up and stick it in reverse and watch the Ks go backwards. NOT!

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Last edited by Timmeh on Tue Feb 08, 2005 1:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 1:42 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

why do people ask these questions? your car has done the km's, so deal with it. you wouldn't want to buy a car which has the km's wound back - so don't do it yourself!

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 1:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 686

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

uglybob wrote:
why do people ask these questions? your car has done the km's, so deal with it. you wouldn't want to buy a car which has the km's wound back - so don't do it yourself!


amen!

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: EF/EL - AU K's
Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 3:32 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 39

Posts: 15

Joined: 8th Feb 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

If you change a speedo in EF/EL - AU they don't reset to what the car was originally. They keep the k's that that speedo has done.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 4:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1043

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Do you guys ever think that his old speedo may have died and had to replace it with a higher kms one?
Or he wanted a different version cluster or something?

 

_________________

1993 ED XR6 5speed Polynesian Green. Project car.

1998 EL XR8 Auto Hot Chilli Red. New daily and project

Last edited by Sturmovik on Tue Feb 08, 2005 4:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF/EL - AU K's
Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 4:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 698

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon Panelvan

Location: Wellington
New Zealand

Jay_78 wrote:
If you change a speedo in EF/EL - AU they don't reset to what the car was originally. They keep the k's that that speedo has done.


my ea wound foward after i changed the ECU.

so dont u think EF/EL's would??

its all electrical, the whole speedo and odometer is read from the ECU.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 4:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 698

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon Panelvan

Location: Wellington
New Zealand

Sturmovik wrote:
Do you guys ever think that his old speedo may have died and had to replace it with a higher kms one? Or he got a high series one?


no, because it gets reset to what ever k's the ECU has done.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF/EL - AU K's
Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 4:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1043

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

XGPANELVAN wrote:
Jay_78 wrote:
If you change a speedo in EF/EL - AU they don't reset to what the car was originally. They keep the k's that that speedo has done.


my ea wound foward after i changed the ECU.

so dont u think EF/EL's would??

its all electrical, the whole speedo and odometer is read from the ECU.


:lol: Bull sh!t
Ive changed my ECU to an aftermarket one and it still works, and winding forward after an ECU change? Are you on crack?

 

_________________

1993 ED XR6 5speed Polynesian Green. Project car.

1998 EL XR8 Auto Hot Chilli Red. New daily and project

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF/EL - AU K's
Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 4:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 698

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon Panelvan

Location: Wellington
New Zealand

Sturmovik wrote:
XGPANELVAN wrote:
Jay_78 wrote:
If you change a speedo in EF/EL - AU they don't reset to what the car was originally. They keep the k's that that speedo has done.


my ea wound foward after i changed the ECU.

so dont u think EF/EL's would??

its all electrical, the whole speedo and odometer is read from the ECU.


:lol: Bull sh!t
Ive changed my ECU to an aftermarket one and it still works, and winding forward after an ECU change? Are you on crack?



engin, gearbox, wire loom, ECU was changed, k's wound foward once ECU was hooked up. from 270,000 to almost 350,000

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 4:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

EA is a very different breed of animal to the EF/EL. I also believe mileage is stored in the instrument cluster of the EF/EL.

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 4:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1043

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Complete aftermarket ECU change on my ED XR6. 19XXXXkms before, 19XXXXkms after, odo still ticks over as normal.

Hell ive got a 170000kms cluster im going to try plugging it in to see what happens. Ill even video it to see this forward winding phenomenon :roll:

 

_________________

1993 ED XR6 5speed Polynesian Green. Project car.

1998 EL XR8 Auto Hot Chilli Red. New daily and project

Last edited by Sturmovik on Tue Feb 08, 2005 4:17 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 5  [ 71 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 12:59 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names