Fordmods Logo

Voltmeter faulty? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Voltmeter faulty?
Posted: Sat May 05, 2007 7:31 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 224

Joined: 13th Nov 2004

Ride: EB2 Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

My EF Mont is charging @13.5V using a multi meter but the guage itself is showing just above 12V .....Is the guage replacable.....Or a part within it??? Oh and the dash lights a a bit dull even at high setting.....Is it safe to go next wattage up or just try some new ones all round???
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 06, 2007 3:43 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 224

Joined: 13th Nov 2004

Ride: EB2 Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Anyone???
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 06, 2007 4:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

if your talking about the gauge on the cluster that would just be a guide, i wouldnt take what it says as gospel. a multimeter/volt meter would be more reliable.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 06, 2007 6:24 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 356

Joined: 29th Jan 2007

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: AU Fairmont wagon

Location: Burnie
TAS, Australia

Mitch is right. My gauge reads between 14.5 & 16V on a normal day, multimeter says that it's running at 14.2V. Tend to think the multimeter would be a bit more accurate. Might be worth installing a standalone gauge.

 

_________________

Cheers
Mick

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 06, 2007 7:23 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 224

Joined: 13th Nov 2004

Ride: EB2 Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Well as explained in first post i already established that 'actual' charge rate is 13.5V with multimeter so the guage is defineately faulty or at least inaccurate.....I'm wanting to know what others have done to fix it as it is prolly a common EF fault???
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 06, 2007 7:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4305

Joined: 6th Jul 2005

Ride: BA xr8 Magnet ute

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

its not a fault as such, whatever you do to the gauge will not change the fact that they are only a Guide, not a meter

you could try getting a better qaulity Gauge and using that, but yeah as explained, there is nothing wrong with your gauge
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 06, 2007 8:31 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

BlkEB2 wrote:
Well as explained in first post i already established that 'actual' charge rate is 13.5V with multimeter so the guage is defineately faulty or at least inaccurate
Provided the multimeter is accurate in the first place. :?:
What voltage does the odometer display when the cluster is in diagnostic mode??

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 06, 2007 10:24 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 224

Joined: 13th Nov 2004

Ride: EB2 Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

[/quote]Provided the multimeter is accurate in the first place. :?:
What voltage does the odometer display when the cluster is in diagnostic mode??[/quote]

Hey Snap! Cluster in diagnostic mode.....what the? How do i get it to do that???
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 06, 2007 11:00 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

Have faith in the technical docos . . . .

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 08, 2007 9:24 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 224

Joined: 13th Nov 2004

Ride: EB2 Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

snap0964 wrote:
Have faith in the technical docos . . . .


Hey Snap! I tried the 10 sec key ON bizo and it would'nt bring 'FORD' to even get into the modes... Tried it a few diff ways.....Wot do i do now???
And i've noticed the guage 'somtimes' sits just under 13V but mostly at 12.2 .....Wonder if the earth for its a bit s**t???
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 09, 2007 1:39 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

Should go into diagnostic mode - read the voltage from the odometer, reposition the analogue gauge pointer accordingly.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 10, 2007 11:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 512

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA Falcon Classic

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

yeah you should first check the diag mode voltage with the multimeter voltage

diag mode:

key off
hold button 10 secs
keep holding, key on
release, press and release twice and then push and hold till seat belt light goes off
wait 10 seconds

 

_________________

When you do things right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 12, 2007 6:11 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 224

Joined: 13th Nov 2004

Ride: EB2 Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Yeah hopefully the needle is adjustable so i can set it to the 13.5V and see how that goes!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 12, 2007 6:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

it will not be adjustable. its just a guide, there to look pretty, serves no purpose really!

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 31, 2007 8:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

As so many have already said its only a guide, most cars just have an ALT light that comes on if the alternator malfunctions. Another reason why the cluster volt guage is out (especially under voltage) would be due the the long run of wire to supply the dash power which also powres the guage. They dont run a seperate wire from the battery just for the volt guage.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:04 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names