Fordmods Logo

What will the odometer read when i replace my cluster? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 26 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: What will the odometer read when i replace my cluster?
Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 1:10 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 446

Joined: 11th Sep 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Fairmont

Location: Werribee
VIC, Australia

Hey i have an EL fairmont and was wondering what would the odometer would read when i replace the cluster, damaged it when changing it to blue. Does the reading come from the ECU or from within the cluster?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 1:37 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 50

Posts: 504

Joined: 2nd Dec 2006

Ride: EF wagoon

Location: perth
WA, Australia

i think it comes from the cluster, so it will be whatever the cluster was in the car it came from.

 

_________________

EF GLi Wagoon
Grandpa Spec

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 7:53 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 1339

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: FGX G6ET

Location: Worrigee
NSW, Australia

The reading comes from a chip on the cluster...it can be swapped, but it's surface mounted, which requires you to be able to do some surface mount soldering, which unless you've got experience in, I would either leave it, or go to a tv repair shop or somewhere like that, they'll usually do it for you.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 9:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 512

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA Falcon Classic

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

i can change digital odometers to whatever value you want, are you in WA?

 

_________________

When you do things right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 2:28 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 446

Joined: 11th Sep 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Fairmont

Location: Werribee
VIC, Australia

No, i only really need the LCD screen, i cracked mine when changing it to blue so i'll just swap them over, didn't wont to open it put but it looks like i'll have too.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:25 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 1339

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: FGX G6ET

Location: Worrigee
NSW, Australia

Well if it's only the LCD screen you need to change, then no, the km reading wont change with it. You'll be fine.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 1:58 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 144

Joined: 23rd Dec 2006

Location: melb
VIC, Australia

has anyone in melb actually had a chip eprom2 resoldered by a shop? if so where?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 3:19 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 84

Joined: 21st Jan 2005

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

shannonwulff wrote:
i can change digital odometers to whatever value you want, are you in WA?


Any info available on how you go about doing that? PM me if you don't want to discuss it in the thread.

Cheers.

 

_________________

In hope we believe... but in God we trust...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 12:39 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 512

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA Falcon Classic

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

its a free country man, and what im doing is really simple

i got plugs and a 12v power supply, and the Ecu outta an EF/EL (dosent matter). connect the grounds and the positives of the ECU and cluster to your source, then the data wire between the two. the cluster will then boot up as normal.

then, just with a sinewave signal generator, hooked onto ground and the speed in wire, slowwwwwly increase the frequency as high as you are able to go, before the cluster starts freaking out and resetting all the time.

it is possible to reach a speed witch will do a million kays in just under a week, running 24hrs. not bad for a totally non-intrusive method that would work on any pulse-sourced speedo.

wanna know anything else? lol

 

_________________

When you do things right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:36 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 144

Joined: 23rd Dec 2006

Location: melb
VIC, Australia

i lost you after ' it's a free country'! lol..btw i still wanna know if anyone in melb has had a eprom (milage chip) resoldered?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 12:32 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 266

Joined: 1st Sep 2007

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

same as b4 as it coms from within the cluster

 

_________________

When the clutch drops the bull s**t stops!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 2:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 423

Joined: 17th May 2007

Sounds like a good tip if I knew what u r talking bout.lol.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 5:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 512

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA Falcon Classic

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

haha true...its really easier than it sounds. all that you really need is the signal generator to simulate the speed sender in the car.

 

_________________

When you do things right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 5:17 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

square wave not sine.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 7:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 512

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA Falcon Classic

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

works better on sine for me.

 

_________________

When you do things right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 3:34 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names