Fordmods Logo

wiring a monster tacho up into ford EF 

 

Page 2 of 3 [ 32 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: Re: wiring a monster tacho up into ford EF
Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 7:47 am 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

WILDEB wrote:

ah. this is true. i was thinking of EA-D. then why the f**k would you want a monster tacho?!



well thats like asking why the f**k would you paint your garnish white?? :roll:

you put s**t on some peoples descision to put ricey objects on there car, but dont like it when people put s**t on your choice of mods!!!!!!!!!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: wiring a monster tacho up into ford EF
Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 7:54 am 
NSW Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 7331

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: TE50

Location: ɹǝpun uʍop
NSW, Australia

I had a monster tacho in the EB, was firmly installed in the passenger footwell behing the front seat, was just too damn lazy to throw it out of the car at 60+ Km/h.

Each to their own I guess, lets just pray and hope that this monster tac(h)o was not installed in a car with an auto, thats just the ultimate in lame.

 

_________________

Image

I have a car.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: wiring a monster tacho up into ford EF
Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 8:07 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3374

Joined: 11th Mar 2008

Ride: EA SVO, AU2 Forte

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

TROYMAN wrote:
WILDEB wrote:

ah. this is true. i was thinking of EA-D. then why the f**k would you want a monster tacho?!



well thats like asking why the f**k would you paint your garnish white?? :roll:

you put s**t on some peoples descision to put ricey objects on there car, but dont like it when people put s**t on your choice of mods!!!!!!!!!



um because it's different. having a monster tacho is stupid due to there already being a factory tacho

 

_________________

Daily driver: AU2. 5 speed. 19" FG luxos. Full exhaust. Lowered. AU3 XR leather interior, converted to full power windows. 3.45 LSD. IN THE FUTURE: Tickford 6
Weekend driver: EA SVO AU motor. Built BTR. TCE 2800 stall. T76 turbo. Locked diff. On E85. approx 320rwkw. 11.5 @121mph

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: wiring a monster tacho up into ford EF
Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 8:20 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 1998

Joined: 31st Dec 2007

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: xc wag's, tnklane wag's

Location: Munruben
QLD, Australia

haha, I just noticed this guys 41 haha :lol:

 

_________________

Signature removed by moderator.signature must not exceed 120x500 pixles

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: wiring a monster tacho up into ford EF
Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 8:42 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 1110

Joined: 25th Mar 2007

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: BA MKII Fairlane GHIA

Location: Berwick
VIC, Australia

so why is this guy getting flamed he asked a question ffs
bunch of f**k children on this forum grow up please the lot of you
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: wiring a monster tacho up into ford EF
Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 8:55 am 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

WILDEB wrote:
TROYMAN wrote:
WILDEB wrote:

ah. this is true. i was thinking of EA-D. then why the f**k would you want a monster tacho?!



well thats like asking why the f**k would you paint your garnish white?? :roll:

you put s**t on some peoples descision to put ricey objects on there car, but dont like it when people put s**t on your choice of mods!!!!!!!!!



um because it's different. having a monster tacho is stupid due to there already being a factory tacho


come on dude,

there could be a genuine reason he wants this tacho?
maybe the factory one dont work? , maybe just maybe the car may have enough engine mods to warrant a tacho of that species, maybe he is running an aftermarket ecu that the factory tacho might not work off??
i dont know?
i personally dont see the point of one either, but its his car and maybe in his eyes its different because not every falcon on the road has a monster tacho, unlike most commodors..lol

so c'mon give the guy a break...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: wiring a monster tacho up into ford EF
Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 12:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 659

Joined: 14th Apr 2006

Ride: EF Fairmont Sedan

Power: 180 rwkw

Location: Ferntree Gully
VIC, Australia

This is what I have :) - Love it - my Car is Auto as well

Did you know that with an Auto you can actually take it out of drive and shift gears - you can also run a Auto Car manually shifting gears down the 1/4 mile

Has a stall shift light as well as RPM Shift Light
I got it for the Stall Light as I was too busy concentrating on the Tacho RPM when stalling the auto up at the go line rather than the Go Lights when i run the 1/4 mile :)
Image

 

_________________

PROEF 13.46 @ 105.78mph - 1994 Ford Fairmont EF NA 6cyl Man 3.9 diff Sedan
Stock Fuel Pump, 29lb Injectors, JMM Street Series Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, 205rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: wiring a monster tacho up into ford EF
Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 12:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 506

Joined: 3rd Sep 2007

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

just abit on/ off topic has anyone put a shift light in with the stock tacho??? cause that would be the only reason someone would put an aftermarket one in... just food for thought..

 

_________________

Image
Falcon Build http://www.fordmods.com/post1285079.html#p1285079

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: wiring a monster tacho up into ford EF
Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 1:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 482

Joined: 9th Apr 2010

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 1993 Ford Fairlane

Location: Warrnambool
VIC, Australia

that doesnt look close to as offensive as i expected...
i was expecting a massive 5 inch taking up a good section of you windscreen

 

_________________

1993 NCII Fairlane
Mods to come:
V8 - SLs - exhaust - DC LTD leather - LTD grill and garnish - LTD wood grain - body colour trim - wheels - tinted windows

1991 NCI Fairlane
Mods to come:
4.0L - lows - exhaust - NCII seats - NCII door trims - LTD grill - body colour trim - wheels - window tint

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: wiring a monster tacho up into ford EF
Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 1:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 482

Joined: 9th Apr 2010

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 1993 Ford Fairlane

Location: Warrnambool
VIC, Australia

just in general i mean, i realise its not the same person lol

 

_________________

1993 NCII Fairlane
Mods to come:
V8 - SLs - exhaust - DC LTD leather - LTD grill and garnish - LTD wood grain - body colour trim - wheels - tinted windows

1991 NCI Fairlane
Mods to come:
4.0L - lows - exhaust - NCII seats - NCII door trims - LTD grill - body colour trim - wheels - window tint

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: wiring a monster tacho up into ford EF
Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 3:17 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

my factory tacho is about 200rpm off, higher.
also seems to react really slow, mine completely loses it s**t if there is a "traction issue".

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: wiring a monster tacho up into ford EF
Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 5:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

DRHEMI wrote:
This is what I have :) - Love it - my Car is Auto as well

Did you know that with an Auto you can actually take it out of drive and shift gears - you can also run a Auto Car manually shifting gears down the 1/4 mile

Has a stall shift light as well as RPM Shift Light
I got it for the Stall Light as I was too busy concentrating on the Tacho RPM when stalling the auto up at the go line rather than the Go Lights when i run the 1/4 mile :)
Image


Not having a go at you personally but I think that looks a bit.. crap (for lack of better wording lol)?
Way too obtrusive for my likings.
If I remember to I'll post up a pic of how I've got my vacuum gauge setup, its recessed into the fascia in front of the cluster on the temp/volt side. Going to do the same on the other side sometime soon as well.

On topic =
I actually have a monster tacho in my car as well. You cant see it though, its stripped down to a circuit board with the shift dial, hidden behind the dash. External shift light from the tacho is mounted in the dash between the plastic fascia and headlight switch.

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: wiring a monster tacho up into ford EF
Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 6:07 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

Can't you buy just a shift light that will work of the std tach pulse? :? Or so I thought...

Would be keen to see what you've done with your aftermarket gauge there... Can't quite follow what your saying...

Cheers,
Tim

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: wiring a monster tacho up into ford EF
Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 6:30 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11738

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Just wire your interior lights to the existing tacho to switch on everytime you need to change gears...now that's different. Or better yet...the horn...now that would be f**k hilarious. VRRRROOOOM "BEEEEEEP" VROOOOOOM "BEEEEEEEP".

Sorry I have nothing to contribute to the OP.

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: wiring a monster tacho up into ford EF
Posted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 9:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 510

Joined: 8th Aug 2010

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: NF Fairlane Ghia

OZBMX wrote:
haha, I just noticed this guys 41 haha :lol:



mid life crisis lol

 

_________________

NF Fairlane Ghia, Brand New Leather Interior, Wallnut All Through, 800W RMS JL Audio Sound System, Lowered King Springs And Monroe GT Shocks, Custom BA/GT Air Intake, Holley Highflow, Simmons B45's, Going To Be Supercharged At 9-12psi With Stage 4 Head And Cam With Pacemakers And 3" Exhaust

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 3  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Falcoon wgn and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:32 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names