Fordmods Logo

wtf my cluster 

 

Page 1 of 3 [ 35 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: wtf my cluster
Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 9:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 5313

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Surf, Turbo Diesel

Location: Melbourne, S.E Suburbs
VIC, Australia

let me start off with $#@^$&%^*$#!@$#!@%$#$^#$%

back to the topic:
okay my cluster is fooked
tacho/speedo/lights dont work on it
indicators dont work when using smartlock
but they do work on corners .ect

the smartlock light is still flahsing, indicatror lights flash, high beam light comes on

umm that stuff works
dash beeps, its a new cluster
tried, bem, ecu, cluster none of it at fault

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 9:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 2198

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Ghia - XF Ego 302 Clevo

Location: Shit Creek
WA, Australia

wiring? globes blown or fuse maybe :)

 

_________________

Team EGO

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 9:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1102

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA MkII XR6 Ute

Location: Gippsland
VIC, Australia

might be a good idea to go over what you did to kill it again chunkz, or at least post a link for people that may not have read the other post.

 

_________________

We'll keep our cow s**t in the country, you keep your bull s**t in the city.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 10:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 5313

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Surf, Turbo Diesel

Location: Melbourne, S.E Suburbs
VIC, Australia

well i already copped some s**t from neo nick... fair enough to, lol

well i was doing the LED conversion thing for cluster + clock
but with some dodgy ebay package that was pasted on that umm led spread sheet thread..

and ways came with dodgy globe holders and to my understand required be to weld onto circuit board....

and well plugged in cluster lights didnt work
plugged in clock and well it started smoking and then cluster didnt work at all

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 10:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 2198

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Ghia - XF Ego 302 Clevo

Location: Shit Creek
WA, Australia

man tough break, i have that led pack from ebay too, didnt use it tho, was gonna until i spoke to laximah and got the globes al fitted direct from repco, my god it was so easy, take out normal globe and replace, plus it was only like $20 too it looks wikid too! poor bugga!

 

_________________

Team EGO

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 10:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 1494

Joined: 1st Dec 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: BA MkII XT Wagon

Location: Maitland
NSW, Australia

sorry to hijack, but do u know the part number for the globes that u got from repco??

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 10:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 2198

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Ghia - XF Ego 302 Clevo

Location: Shit Creek
WA, Australia

Pulco wrote:
sorry to hijack, but do u know the part number for the globes that u got from repco??

47902 :)

 

_________________

Team EGO

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 10:42 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

chunkz wrote:
required be to weld onto circuit board....


OMG, I hope you didn't actually do that!

that'd be instant short circuit, and yeah you would'a killed s**t.

Did you check your fuses with a meter. When I installed my TC, I blew the "INST. BAT." fuse (which resulted in similar symptoms to you).

I checked at the time and saw that it was ok. It wasn't til the next day when I calmed down and tested it with a multimeter did I find it was actually broken, $1.10 down the server I had a new fuse and everything was working again (incl. the TC).

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 11:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 5313

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Surf, Turbo Diesel

Location: Melbourne, S.E Suburbs
VIC, Australia

sorry did i say weld....
i ment solder
(i know its still bad)

so inst bat you reckon? i'll check itr out

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 11:25 am 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

weld / solder either option would've been bad as you would've shorted the dash contacts.

Make sure you remove all those metal holders, and any solder left behind. Then go about checking everything.

yeah INST. BAT. fuse. For my it killed, dash instruments (although lights still worked), and put the auto in limp mode (as the ECU wasn't getting a speed signal). Accelerating off in 3rd isn't very exciting at all, had to drive 'stick' and listen for revs as the tacho wasn't going either. Was a fun Aust. day long w/e that one.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 11:33 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 10126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

chunkz wrote:
well i already copped some s**t from neo nick... fair enough to, lol

well i was doing the LED conversion thing for cluster + clock
but with some dodgy ebay package that was pasted on that umm led spread sheet thread..

and ways came with dodgy globe holders and to my understand required be to weld onto circuit board....

and well plugged in cluster lights didnt work
plugged in clock and well it started smoking and then cluster didnt work at all


I think it is time for a new s**t award!!!!

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 2:35 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

All the functions which arent working make it look like a problem at the BEM. Check all fuses, worst case you'll be up for a new BEM. If whatever you did to ur dash is the cause of the problem, fix that before replacing the BEM, else you'll breaking them.

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: OMG
Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2005 10:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 422

Joined: 25th Feb 2005

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: HOT EL

Location: Berwick
VIC, Australia

if you soldered the metal LED holder to the PCB it will be a short, if you look at the PCB you will see that the bulb holder connector on the PCB is not fully round (there is a cut at the top and bottom) one side is your + and the other your -. this said it should have blown the cluster fuse. replace it (after disconecting your dash) and pull all the metal bulb holders off. just put a few bulbs back in and test to make sure all is ok. if you need anyomre help PM me and i will help you. Good luck, everything should be ok if done right. if you can pull the cluster out and send me a photo of what you have done i should be able to help you.

 

_________________

The Lion Tamer

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 8:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 5313

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Surf, Turbo Diesel

Location: Melbourne, S.E Suburbs
VIC, Australia

data_mine wrote:

Did you check your fuses with a meter. When I installed my TC, I blew the "INST. BAT." fuse (which resulted in similar symptoms to you).

.


champion.... tacho works now, same with speedo...

HOWEVER, further problems...
i have alittle warning light flashing on the dash... it might be radiator? its like a square with a fan on it? what could be ther prob?
i dont know what these lights are but they dont work (the fronts on the first click... not high beams, not ya normal lights you drive at night with, but the other real dim ones)
my rear lights that go on when you turn head lights on doesnt work...
(break light didnt either tonight, until i changed fuse)

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2005 11:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 2198

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Ghia - XF Ego 302 Clevo

Location: Shit Creek
WA, Australia

Quote:

HOWEVER, further problems...
i have alittle warning light flashing on the dash... it might be radiator? its like a square with a fan on it? what could be ther prob?



yer the fan thingy is the coolant level usually, u might be low on coolant check the resoivoir

 

_________________

Team EGO

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 5:25 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names