Fordmods Logo

xh xr6 cruise control 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: xh xr6 cruise control
Posted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 6:06 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 23

Joined: 16th Jan 2005

Ride: XH XR6

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

Does anyone know what is needed to install cruise control into a xr6 ute NON ABS Manual?
I have read the doco, but the wiring part from ford does'nt exsist anymore.
However have learnt that the non abs wiring was for the gli only models which was basic and did not have low coolant sensor and such.
But my XH ute does..
Nob nut from local ford dealer told me that the xh didn't even come out with a xr6 model!!! So quickly gave up asking any further questions from them.
I'm just not sure how closely related the barstardised ute was to it's cousin the sedan in regards to cruise control, gli, futura..
Wreckers in the area don't have any idea either.

Cheers
Dan.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 9:47 pm 
Technical Contributor
Online
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

The setup and equipment/wiring etc, is exactly the same as an EF/EL, if you're running a drivers airbag.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 16, 2008 1:48 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 23

Joined: 16th Jan 2005

Ride: XH XR6

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

Thats what i thought Snap, but what's with the gli and futura sedan setups.
I don't have abs. Do I need to find a gli with cruise control to get the loom.
If so they are rare as..noone has them or even has had them.
Or do i just need the plug into the cruise actuator cut from any loom and terminate my own ends to the vehicle loom?
Is the clutch switch the same as the brake switch?
What should already be on the ute for cruise control?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 16, 2008 4:08 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

would be easier to get a module plug from any ef/el with cruise control.

Extend the wires, presto! factory loom.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 6:14 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names