Fordmods Logo

XR8 and XR6 instrument Cluster Tachos 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: XR8 and XR6 instrument Cluster Tachos
Posted: Tue Nov 08, 2005 7:25 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 8

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Location: Morwell
VIC, Australia

I have been told that if I put a XR8 cluster into a XT or XR6 then the tacho will read incorrectly. Because it will not be getting the correct number of pulses.

In the good old days you had a selector for the number of cylinders for the after market tachos. I know the new cluster wouldn't have this.

I have been able to find a XR8 cluster but don't want to buy it if the tacho is not going to be correct.

Any ideas????
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 08, 2005 7:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 10126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

well the e-series have no difference between the v8 and i6 tachos - I didn't know the BA series did have - are you sure?

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 08, 2005 7:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3277

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 36 images

Ride: Ronald Mcdonald Mobile

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Happy wrote:
well the e-series have no difference between the v8 and i6 tachos - I didn't know the BA series did have - are you sure?


ive been told that if u put a v8 tacho in it will read lower than an I6 one. that was in the EA-D clusters though

 

_________________

Gooooone - Eb2 Coon - 143RWKW
Now - Mazda MX5 with HKS Supercharger 190RWKW
Crescent Motorsport Liverpool - 9600 6229

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 08, 2005 10:35 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 514

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: V8 VE Calais V Spec

Power: 262 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

The BAs get the RPM, and most of the other readings from the CAN bus...
You can pretty much swap any cluster with any cluster, and have the whole thing working..... EXCEPT you will need to get the cluster programmed by your friendly Fraud Dealer for the ABS/Traction Control Setting (For Speedo Input), as well as some of the other settings like ODO, and the Fuel Guage calibration (LPG/Petrol/Sedan/Wagon/Territory)....

Im sure the doco has more info on what needs to be programmed up..

 

_________________

VE Calais V8, IQ, HSV instruments and brembos fitted.
IQ, IPC, BCM all hacked and programmed without TECH2 :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 2:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

I'm topic-dredging.

I can see that the PCM sends the cylinder count via CAN Bus, but it looks like only the HIM listens to it.

RPM is sent via the CAN bus using the TACH_IND PID. But I can't find any reference to the Instrument Cluster being any different for 8 or 6.

Since this topic was started a long time ago, has the cluster been changed anyway, and we may have a practical answer by now rather than a theoritcal one?


Lukeyson
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 2:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 10126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

from the tech doco's

Quote:
Some Common misconceptions with the EF and EL series Clusters include
1. There is no difference with V8 and I6 Tacho sections ! - Don�t ask me why, but I definitely have a V8 Fairlane Cluster fitted to my EF, and it has an Inline 6 motor. The Tacho section on both the original, and Fairlane Clusters are within 20RPM tolerance of each other, throughout the entire rev range !

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 2:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 1880

Joined: 22nd Apr 2005

Ride: ED Futura

Location: Seymour
VIC, Australia

I know when I worked as a Sexurity Officer at Venture Industries (the maker of Fraud plastics) they had hundreds of FPV cluster units in the warehouse and they were the same for i6 and V8 as I was lead to believe by the warehouse manager.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 3:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

i think th e only thing with speedos the xr8 sprint revs more

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 10:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

OK, we now know more.

Yes, you can put any XR6 or XR8 cluster into an XT or Futura. It will work fine, except for the fine detail (ABS/DSC lights for example).

But note: The low series cluster have speedo to 220, RPM to 7000 (i think?). XR's have speedo to 260, RPM to 7000. FPV have Speed to 270 and RPM to 8000. When changing entire clusters this scaling is internal to the cluster.

However, you can't put an OEM FPV cluster 'face' on an XT because of the differences in scaling without making some changes. There are, however, 2 options.

(1) Buy an FPV face from eBay with a 220/7000 scaling OR
(2) Get auMatt to reprogram your low-series cluster with the different scaling. Yes, it can be done.



Lukeyson
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:09 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names