Fordmods Logo

are gas ready heads really needed 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: are gas ready heads really needed
Posted: Tue Dec 04, 2007 1:16 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 229

Joined: 26th Nov 2007

Ride: Toyota Landcruiser Series 100

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

hi,

just wanting to know as I will be converting my fairmont soon.

Its done just over 200K. Its got the tickford motor as its a EL ghia.

do i need to change the head to the gas ones?

thanks

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 04, 2007 1:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2550

Joined: 28th Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF 5 Speed, XH Uterus :P

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

i don't think there is a different gas head - that is one reason falcons are a popular choice for taxi companies, as they just install the gas and away they go

 

_________________

Maloo - Holden's word for ugly.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 04, 2007 1:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 4307

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: EF Falcon XT-T

Location: Mornington Peninsula
VIC, Australia

don't need to do anything.

 

_________________

FALCN6 - EF GLi Turbo, 20" Rims, Air Bag Suspension, Straight LPG, 225rwkw
DTHWGN - EA GL Wagon, LTD Interior, Satin Black, 5.0, Turbo
RACER - EF Futura , 5.0, 5 Speed
PROJECT - 83 Thunderbird, Lowered, 18" Billet Wheels
DAILY - BA Fairmont Ghia 5.4 3V

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 04, 2007 1:51 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 229

Joined: 26th Nov 2007

Ride: Toyota Landcruiser Series 100

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

beautiful.

Need to just check up as my head gasket has a small leak at the moment but its leaking from one of the water jackets to the outside of the block (so not oil and water mixing happening).

So been told there is a cheap fix that will last for a year or so or a new gasket is the other choice.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 04, 2007 11:46 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

dude that cheap fix sounds like chemi weld... i would soo avoid it like the plague
if it is allready leaking how do u not know if there is more severe corrosion in there?

pull the head off and get it looked at/fixed maybe up the comp a wee bit for the gas u may need to run PULP instead

Mr sperm1 the other reason is that the falcon's drive train is a lot more durable than the holdens
holden will not warrent thier drive trains over 300,000kms

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 9:05 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 229

Joined: 26th Nov 2007

Ride: Toyota Landcruiser Series 100

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

okay cool...ill look into that...might as well throw a new gasket in at the same too i guess.

thanks for all the feedback.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 3:06 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names