Fordmods Logo

HELP!!! Anyone had experience with KME-ACME Vapour injection 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: HELP!!! Anyone had experience with KME-ACME Vapour injection
Posted: Sun May 09, 2010 9:25 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 64

Joined: 28th Oct 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: XF ute

Location: Oakdale
NSW, Australia

hi everyone,just fitted a vapour injection to my xf ute.ute is running a au engine and ef ecu etc.has anyone used or worked on a kme system.the main problem is won`t run on gas due to a low pressure in the gas rail.it supposed to be 1.0bar however it`s only sitting on 0.2bar.i`ve adjusted the reducer but no good.this is a brand new system.your help will much appreciated.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: HELP!!! Anyone had experience with KME-ACME Vapour injection
Posted: Wed May 12, 2010 12:50 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 4285

Joined: 8th Dec 2004

Gallery: 25 images

Ride: EB2 Ghia,Mighty Boy,Eb1 Xr8 5spd

Location: ** In the Shed! **
VIC, Australia

Low pressure in the rail - you sure there isn't any leaks happening?

What about the lock off at the tank, is it wound open as far as it will go?

Cheers

ToranaGuy

 

_________________

I am the ToranaGuy!|74 Lh Torana Turbo|78 Hz PanelVan|86 Mighty Boy Ute|93 EB2 Ghia,GT Mockup,5spd,LPGI,Full Leather|2 x EB Xr8 5spd's|FS [VIC]: Wrecking - Eb XR8 - Parts available |Build Thread|Ebay Items - Ford Parts|

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: HELP!!! Anyone had experience with KME-ACME Vapour injection
Posted: Wed May 12, 2010 7:45 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 64

Joined: 28th Oct 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: XF ute

Location: Oakdale
NSW, Australia

yeah,checked for leaks and gas valve,all ok.when its cold it has some pressure. as it warms up the pressure drops off.even cracked the barb fitting on the reducer gas lock and seems to be plenty of gas there.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: HELP!!! Anyone had experience with KME-ACME Vapour injection
Posted: Wed May 12, 2010 7:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 4285

Joined: 8th Dec 2004

Gallery: 25 images

Ride: EB2 Ghia,Mighty Boy,Eb1 Xr8 5spd

Location: ** In the Shed! **
VIC, Australia

What sort of reducer does it run? Does it have an inbuilt regulator to regulate the pressure of the gas vapour?

Cheers

ToranaGuy

 

_________________

I am the ToranaGuy!|74 Lh Torana Turbo|78 Hz PanelVan|86 Mighty Boy Ute|93 EB2 Ghia,GT Mockup,5spd,LPGI,Full Leather|2 x EB Xr8 5spd's|FS [VIC]: Wrecking - Eb XR8 - Parts available |Build Thread|Ebay Items - Ford Parts|

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: HELP!!! Anyone had experience with KME-ACME Vapour injection
Posted: Wed May 12, 2010 8:04 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 64

Joined: 28th Oct 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: XF ute

Location: Oakdale
NSW, Australia

it has a inbuilt regulator,i pulled it down the other day to see if there was any blockages but i didn`t remove the regulator.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: HELP!!! Anyone had experience with KME-ACME Vapour injection
Posted: Wed May 12, 2010 8:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 4285

Joined: 8th Dec 2004

Gallery: 25 images

Ride: EB2 Ghia,Mighty Boy,Eb1 Xr8 5spd

Location: ** In the Shed! **
VIC, Australia

Is the vac line running to the regulator? I had major issues with my injection setup when the vac line developed a split in it. It was ok when the car was cold, but as the engine & things in the bay heated up, the vac hose expanded & started to leak vac, causing it to run bad.....

Cheers

ToranaGuy

 

_________________

I am the ToranaGuy!|74 Lh Torana Turbo|78 Hz PanelVan|86 Mighty Boy Ute|93 EB2 Ghia,GT Mockup,5spd,LPGI,Full Leather|2 x EB Xr8 5spd's|FS [VIC]: Wrecking - Eb XR8 - Parts available |Build Thread|Ebay Items - Ford Parts|

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: HELP!!! Anyone had experience with KME-ACME Vapour injection
Posted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 10:53 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 64

Posts: 224

Joined: 31st May 2010

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: XF 5 LIT P/ VAN EF 5 LIT FUTURA

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

I may be able to help. I am a gas fitter and do fit KME. Have you connected the vac supply to the map & converter correctly? How do you know you have low pressure do you have a lead & lap top? If so have you configured it correctly? What fault codes does it list?

 

_________________

SALT IS FOR RACING ON. SAUCE IS FOR FISH & CHIPS.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: HELP!!! Anyone had experience with KME-ACME Vapour injection
Posted: Sat Jun 05, 2010 8:44 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Quote:
It was ok when the car was cold, but as the engine & things in the bay heated up
Sounds to me like the reducer is freezing up due to lack of colant flow.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: HELP!!! Anyone had experience with KME-ACME Vapour injection
Posted: Sat Jun 05, 2010 9:24 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 64

Joined: 28th Oct 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: XF ute

Location: Oakdale
NSW, Australia

sorry guys i have not been on for a while but thanks for your help.for some reason the pressure problem sorted it self out.i don`t know what happend,maybe excess air in the new tank i don`t know.however now it`s the tuning part which i`m having problems with.Mr panel van man,since you have worked with kme i may need your help.my system is a kme-akme 1.4.i have the correct software and interface.i have drilled my jet`s to 3mm.the software says 2.9mm.its running ok but when i hit 4000rpm in 1st and 2nd it won`t rev any more.leads are ok and just fitted platium plugs.the MULT value in the software is set to 0% and i have the correct offset for the rail injectors which is 2%.i`m currently getting 400-450kms out of 60 litres of gas but should be getting better.i was getting 600kms out of 60 litres of petrol.also there is a calibration sensor.do u use this?.you help would much apprecitied.thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: HELP!!! Anyone had experience with KME-ACME Vapour injection
Posted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 2:47 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 64

Posts: 224

Joined: 31st May 2010

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: XF 5 LIT P/ VAN EF 5 LIT FUTURA

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Sounds as if its too lean. 350k's per 60 ltrs city cycle is normal. My 5lit gets about 330 per 65 my sons el 4lit gets 380 per 65 both on kme kits. Did you map the mixtures when you configured it & how does the fuel map look now red & green should overlap red dots are gas from memory. Where did you get the kit from. Good luck & keep in touch. My other van did 128 MPH on gas with twin 425's on a 351 clevo on lake Gaidiner SA in March [Salt Racing] See May Street Machine

 

_________________

SALT IS FOR RACING ON. SAUCE IS FOR FISH & CHIPS.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: HELP!!! Anyone had experience with KME-ACME Vapour injection
Posted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 7:09 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 64

Posts: 224

Joined: 31st May 2010

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: XF 5 LIT P/ VAN EF 5 LIT FUTURA

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

I checked my manuals and it recomends for 30plus kw per nozzle drill to 4mm I thought 3 was a bit small

 

_________________

SALT IS FOR RACING ON. SAUCE IS FOR FISH & CHIPS.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: HELP!!! Anyone had experience with KME-ACME Vapour injection
Posted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 10:08 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 64

Joined: 28th Oct 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: XF ute

Location: Oakdale
NSW, Australia

well,on my manual it states 3mm nozzle for 40hp per cylinder.do i need the calibration sensor?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 11:06 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names