Fordmods Logo

LPG pod set up 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: LPG pod set up
Posted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 8:43 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1

Joined: 1st Nov 2011

Ride: 99Au1

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Hey all looking at installing a pod filter on my au falcon it's got factory gas fitted.

I've done a search and can't find the answer so thought I'd ask

My question is what do I do with the balance line to the gas converter has it currently located in the bottom of the airbox facing towards the front last time I installed a pod I left that line loose and the car was chewing throught the gas.

I was thinking if I just relocate it into the intake pipe facing forwards so it will see same airflow as it does now would this fix the issue??

Or any other suggestions would be appreciated

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: LPG pod set up
Posted: Sat Nov 12, 2011 6:08 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 133

Joined: 6th Nov 2005

Ride: XHII ute

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Interesting question!

on my ef wagon I have an OMVL converter with tickford mixer and I recently installed a pod and a new converter and lost around 80km per tank. i now average about 300km per tank (60L or so), used to get 380 around town before.
It feels more powerful with the pod so I've left it as it is.
Im not really complaining about my lost economy though as I dont have an ecu to control the gas mixtures. I have monitored the o2 sensor signal with a multimeter and its rich all the time .800mv
I've found if i lean the mixture out a little it only ended up with a hesitation somewhere in the rpm range.
I've heard warm air improves fuel economy so i thought it was worth a try mounting the pod above the extractors. I used a short piece of 3" pipe about 40cm long.
I noticed no improvement in 0-100km time, maybe only .1 of a second. I mostly noticed more torque at around 2-3 at light - 1/2 throttle.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: LPG pod set up
Posted: Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6449

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Factory gas doesn't like big changes on the intake side.

The stock intake setup more then out flows the mixer ring anyway.

 

_________________

PERMANENTLY BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: LPG pod set up
Posted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 12:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 1072

Joined: 6th Jul 2006

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: BA Falcon

Power: 106 rwkw

Location: Craigmore
SA, Australia

better off getting a decent aftermarket panel filter & a BA XR6T/XR8 Snorkal.... and it will still be a legal mod to boot :D

 

_________________

2003 BA Falcon Egas Taxi Pack - XR Replica
Tpak MKII Build Thread

1984 ZL Fairlane
The Project

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: LPG pod set up
Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2011 10:18 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 49

Posts: 6

Joined: 21st Nov 2011

Ride: chryslers

Location: huntfield heights
SA, Australia

the balance line is there to supply atmospheric pressure to the vented side of the converter
lets the diaphragm return quicker to the neutral position
cant really see why you are losing economy the usual problem without one is stalling on decell (over rich)
i would just run it up to the top of the rad where the snorkel was and mount it there
that should be a happy spot for it and re-tune your converter
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: LPG pod set up
Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2011 11:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Balance Line is also there to increase the LPG Pressure as the Airbox gets +ve pressure (ram air)

Using a pod filter makes this much harder. You can put the balance line post pod filter. It makes more sense as this way you get the actual pressure going into the engine, not before the filter where you can end up with an imbalance due to the filter being blocked or higher or lower flow. However you then most likely will need to bleed some air off so that it balances correctly.

If you put your pod in without a CAI you wont have an issue. If your using a CAI then you can put the balance line back in in a similar manner

Nigel
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 6:49 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names