Fordmods Logo

Very Strange Ef XR Dual Fuel 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 21 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Very Strange Ef XR Dual Fuel
Posted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 12:52 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 161

Joined: 20th Jul 2007

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: XR6 and ZD Fairlane

Location: Melbourne
QLD, Australia

Hey people how are you? Ive got a bit of a problem with my Ef Xr6 i put it on gas and it was running all good, now as of a week ago i switched over to petrol and it was idling like it had a lumpy cam and was just in general running like crap. The bit i ont understand is why it runs fine on LPG but not petrol. So i thught it was crap petrol so ran that out and put some premo in it still same story. Where do i start?
Thanks in advance
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 12:55 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 5889

Joined: 2nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: '14 Grand Cherokee

Location: Port Lincoln
SA, Australia

might have gummed up injectors. how often do you drive on petrol?

 

_________________

11/93 ED OPT20 GLi | Full Boat Spec

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 1:06 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 161

Joined: 20th Jul 2007

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: XR6 and ZD Fairlane

Location: Melbourne
QLD, Australia

i give it a good squirt on petrol once a week, its also a system that starts on petrol i might put some of that injector cleaner stuff in.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 1:09 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 5889

Joined: 2nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: '14 Grand Cherokee

Location: Port Lincoln
SA, Australia

also, check your MAP sensor, the hose might have come off. has the system backfired at all?

 

_________________

11/93 ED OPT20 GLi | Full Boat Spec

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 1:13 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 161

Joined: 20th Jul 2007

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: XR6 and ZD Fairlane

Location: Melbourne
QLD, Australia

nope no back fire at all :? where is the map sensor located? doest the LPG use the oxy sensor im thinking it might be s**t itself?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 1:18 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 5889

Joined: 2nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: '14 Grand Cherokee

Location: Port Lincoln
SA, Australia

map sensor is bolted to the firewall, a small black box with a plug and a hose on the bottom of it. looking at the front of the car its about level with the intake manifold IIRC.

 

_________________

11/93 ED OPT20 GLi | Full Boat Spec

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 1:22 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 161

Joined: 20th Jul 2007

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: XR6 and ZD Fairlane

Location: Melbourne
QLD, Australia

your a champ will check tomorrow thanks mate
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 1:26 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 5889

Joined: 2nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: '14 Grand Cherokee

Location: Port Lincoln
SA, Australia

no problem.

 

_________________

11/93 ED OPT20 GLi | Full Boat Spec

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 12:51 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 161

Joined: 20th Jul 2007

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: XR6 and ZD Fairlane

Location: Melbourne
QLD, Australia

ok so i checked map sensor its all good, so i decided to do a little test fired the car up and put it on petrol, idled like s**t as usual, so i stod next to the exhaust side of the car and i could smell raw petrol, definately running too rich. Also i ran some injector cleaner through it on half a tank to make it a little stronger, to no avail :( . Any suggestions im thinking oxy sensor at the moment or s**t tune when since the lpg has settled in now. plus im getting between 350-400km on gas(68L tank) with easy majority highway driving.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 7:19 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3374

Joined: 11th Mar 2008

Ride: EA SVO, AU2 Forte

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

how did you check the map sensor? if you someone else with a EB-EL Falcon just quickly borrow theres and see what happens

 

_________________

Daily driver: AU2. 5 speed. 19" FG luxos. Full exhaust. Lowered. AU3 XR leather interior, converted to full power windows. 3.45 LSD. IN THE FUTURE: Tickford 6
Weekend driver: EA SVO AU motor. Built BTR. TCE 2800 stall. T76 turbo. Locked diff. On E85. approx 320rwkw. 11.5 @121mph

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 10:46 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 5889

Joined: 2nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: '14 Grand Cherokee

Location: Port Lincoln
SA, Australia

yeah could have shat itself internally. theyre only about $5 from a wreckers.

 

_________________

11/93 ED OPT20 GLi | Full Boat Spec

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 1:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Make sure that the LPG is wired in correctly : On Falcons, the Oxy Sensor needs to be disconnected from the ECU so that they dont try and retune around the LPG computer.

That can cause this. One of the quickest ways to figure that is to reset the ECU (EEC) completely and then see if its any better
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 11:01 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 161

Joined: 20th Jul 2007

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: XR6 and ZD Fairlane

Location: Melbourne
QLD, Australia

oh k so do i have to disconnect the oxy sensor??? or do i just reset the ecu?? thanks for the replies
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 11:23 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Start by resetting the ECU (not sure of the process for EEC-5, but think it involves disconnecting the battery for a while)

That will clear the maps etc on the ECU.

As for the Oxy sensor - your LPG system should be disconnecting it automatically when running on LPG. It may be emulating though which may or may not work. if it doesnt, then the petrol ECU learns corrections which arent valid and your engine runs like crap
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 08, 2008 10:26 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 161

Joined: 20th Jul 2007

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: XR6 and ZD Fairlane

Location: Melbourne
QLD, Australia

ok so i reet the ECU and no Difference unfortunately so what im going to do is disconnect the oxy sensor and see if it changes if it doesnt then i know that thee is something wrong there if it does then ill be calling the place that did the conversion asking for an explanation :) thanks for the responses
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 4:21 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names