Fordmods Logo

Wont idle. 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Wont idle.
Posted: Fri Nov 14, 2008 8:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

On the mav I had a dual fuel setup with a petrol carby with a simple mixer ring silastic'd on top for ages. Everything was fine.

The other day I took the carby off and fitted an adapter and a gas research throttle body. I wanted to fit the mixer ring in front so I could drive it to the gas place to have the gra converter fitted with a 2nd gas tank.

I couldnt get the original mixer to seal on top of the t/b so I got a falcon mixer. It wouldnt start straight away but I fixed a few vacuum leaks and it started fine. The mixer is sealed to the t/b and there is nothing in front of the mixer.

It was idling for about 30 minutes while I let the batteries recharge a bit, it was revving out fine and idling perfect. I thought I would shut the bonnet and drive it. I closed the bonnet and before I got to the front door it stalled.

Now I cant get it to start without priming the converter a few times and it wont idle for more than 3 seconds when it does start.

Any ideas? I tried starting with the bonnet open again and no change.

I need to fix it to avoid a tow truck :P
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 15, 2008 6:01 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 66

Joined: 2nd Feb 2008

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

your problem could be the vapouriser, it usually needs a spring with different tension to run a gas research carb properly.
you can't just bolt on the GRA carb and drive away. life wasn't meant to be easy, and trying to get 2 systems to run at the same time is making it really hard.
Why not just throw away the existing system, and run the GRA carb with the proper vapouriser?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 15, 2008 7:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

At the moment I only want the original simple mixer ring setup to work.

The only thing I have changed is swapping the carby for a throttle body.

The gas research throttle body isnt hooked up, its just acting as a throttle body in front of the mixer ring. The original mixer is fed from the original converter so mixing and matching parts isnt as issue.

I only want it to work for 5 kms so I can drive the car to the LPG place to have the gas research converter fitted along with the 2nd tank.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 15, 2008 7:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

post a pic as its hard to visualise what u are talking about exactly...

you say you have the GRA TB infront of the mixer ring...wierd

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 15, 2008 8:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Argh typo, simple mixer is in front of the gra throttle body. Sorry about that.

Same as what a falcon would look like if you pretend the gra throttle body was a stock throttle body.

I want the mixer ring setup to work just so I can drive it to the LPG joint. They will be removing the mixer ring setup, fitting the B2 converter, a 2nd tank and plumbing it all up and dyno tuning.

It might be easier to flat tow it. Its not far.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 15, 2008 9:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Pic showing mixer ring mounted to throttle body.

Image
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 8:04 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 66

Joined: 2nd Feb 2008

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Tow it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 8:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Fixed it.

After all that mucking around on the intake side of the car you would figure that is where the problem was coming from. :roll:

I stood outside the car while i primed it and tried starting and noticed that the LED on a box for the gas was switching off just before the car would die.

Jiggled some wires and she fired right up and ran perfect. :)

There has to be a dodgy connection from the gas system to the ignition coil or something but I dunno which is which so Ill get the gas place to figure it out. At least I can drive it there now.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 6:34 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names