Fordmods Logo

EOI: Smarter Shift Kit I Made 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: EOI: Smarter Shift Kit I Made
Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2008 10:20 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 183

Joined: 20th Sep 2006

Ride: BA XR6 5sp

Location: Wodonga
VIC, Australia

For about the last 6 months I've been running a shift kit in my EF that I made...

The way I designed it is so you don't need a switch to turn it on and off...
When putting around town shifts are normal, but when your throttle exceeds a level determined by the user, the shift kit enables and provides a firmer shift, back off the throttle and the kit switches back to stock shift...

Reason I made this post is i hadn't seen anything like this on the market, I'll probably be looking at selling this kit as I am selling my EF (just bought a 5sd BA XR6 :P) but i wanted to see what sort of interest there would be and was toying with the idea of making some more...

Installation of this kit is as basic as installing a shiftkits.com.au one, only with 1 more wire...

Let me know you're thoughts...

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2008 11:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 1072

Joined: 6th Jul 2006

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: BA Falcon

Power: 106 rwkw

Location: Craigmore
SA, Australia

thats a brilliant idea, well done. 99% of the time you only want that when you are giving it some anyway

 

_________________

2003 BA Falcon Egas Taxi Pack - XR Replica
Tpak MKII Build Thread

1984 ZL Fairlane
The Project

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 12:48 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2945

Joined: 24th Jan 2005

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: XW, EL, Territory, VFR800

Power: 129 rwkw

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

sounds alright if its proven and tested
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:45 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

just a modified switch to the accel pedal?

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:53 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1319

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

just beware that if it switches on / off too regularly, or if it switches on /off during a shift, it can make it go into limp mode
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 12:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

thats a top idea mate, hope you can make yourself some money, good luck to you.

I personally would only have the shift kit activated at full throttle, that way it wont be turning on and off all the time
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 5:03 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 183

Joined: 20th Sep 2006

Ride: BA XR6 5sp

Location: Wodonga
VIC, Australia

MoNGooSE wrote:
sounds alright if its proven and tested

Its been working fine for me, and thats been at least 6 months of use...

Disco Frank wrote:
just a modified switch to the accel pedal?

Nah no switches need to be fitted at all... just 4 wires (+12v, Ground and 2 wires from the ECU)


66 coupe wrote:
just beware that if it switches on / off too regularly, or if it switches on /off during a shift, it can make it go into limp mode

I was thinking the same thing and was worried this would happen, but i've never had my car in limp mode...

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:52 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names