Fordmods Logo

EFXR6 TURBO 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 28 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 10:11 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 4307

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: EF Falcon XT-T

Location: Mornington Peninsula
VIC, Australia

on post 87 model cars you STILL NEED AN EMMISIONS REPORT ON LPG!

 

_________________

FALCN6 - EF GLi Turbo, 20" Rims, Air Bag Suspension, Straight LPG, 225rwkw
DTHWGN - EA GL Wagon, LTD Interior, Satin Black, 5.0, Turbo
RACER - EF Futura , 5.0, 5 Speed
PROJECT - 83 Thunderbird, Lowered, 18" Billet Wheels
DAILY - BA Fairmont Ghia 5.4 3V

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 10:50 am 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

It's just easier to get, due to LPG's inherent lower emissions.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 10:55 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 4307

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: EF Falcon XT-T

Location: Mornington Peninsula
VIC, Australia

its not really any different to petrol.
an LPG car still have to be 'safe' tuned to pass, you can't just go crazy.
the deal with petrol, a lean/safe tune for emmissions, once its done u go nuts.

 

_________________

FALCN6 - EF GLi Turbo, 20" Rims, Air Bag Suspension, Straight LPG, 225rwkw
DTHWGN - EA GL Wagon, LTD Interior, Satin Black, 5.0, Turbo
RACER - EF Futura , 5.0, 5 Speed
PROJECT - 83 Thunderbird, Lowered, 18" Billet Wheels
DAILY - BA Fairmont Ghia 5.4 3V

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 4:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1960

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 22 images

Power: 315 rwkw

Location: Under the flight path of incoming packpackers
NSW, Australia

A mate of mine has an early mx5 that has a wrx turbo on the stock motor. standard ecu and injs, we mounted an extra 800cc injector in the throttle body and used a Hobbs pressure switch to turn it on/off when 4psi hits. On 8psi it did 110wkws on Hitman's dyno... cheap and chearfull and pretty quik for a 1.6lt. A/F ratio is fairly good and safe too

So, you dont always have to change the ecu if your doing a very basic set up...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 7:35 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 62

Joined: 6th Oct 2005

Ride: ED Hwy rider

Location: Way out SE Melb
VIC, Australia

sorry if i missed in it all the above,

heard once that the ED's can handle 8psi before they start packing it in with standard ecu, inj?? any turth??

also where is the best place to get oil pressure from?? is there enough oil pressure to take it before/after it goes thought the filter??

 

_________________

5spd conversion, extac 2 1/2 mandrell bend, 2.92lsd, kings lowered.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 7:54 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Xplodefalcon wrote:
heard once that the ED's can handle 8psi before they start packing it in with standard ecu, inj?? any turth??


Check this (massively long) thread out...

http://www.fordforums.com/showthread.ph ... ge=3&pp=10

Also CHEF's DIY Turbo thread.

It really isn't worth d**k around with rising rate regs, you'll get s**t AFR's and never make as much power as you could with an Aftermarket ECU

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 9:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 2282

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: ED Fairmont Ghia & EF XR8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

for those interested my mate had his ef xr8 recently boosted. atm its running approx 5psi on stock internals and ecu etc. he's getting 207kw's at the wheels. not bad for a 230k old windsor

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 2:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1960

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 22 images

Power: 315 rwkw

Location: Under the flight path of incoming packpackers
NSW, Australia

nannas_ed wrote:
for those interested my mate had his ef xr8 recently boosted. atm its running approx 5psi on stock internals and ecu etc. he's getting 207kw's at the wheels. not bad for a 230k old windsor


any details on the set up?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 2:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

(off topic)

Chef:

how did you handle your sensors with your WOLF? did you have to put in new air and water temp sensors for the wolf or did you splice into the old one? trying to work out howto wire up my MSII.. :P
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 2:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1960

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 22 images

Power: 315 rwkw

Location: Under the flight path of incoming packpackers
NSW, Australia

I used the Wolf suplied water temp sensor and air temp sensor. VDO sensors if i remember correctly
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 2:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

Where abouts did you mount them?

I might just install new ones if its not too much trouble to make the 2 ecu's share them..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 11:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2772

Joined: 27th Jan 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: BOXCAR (Not some sorry ass EF/EL

Location: Mackay, Far North New South Wales.
QLD, Australia

Xplodefalcon wrote:
sorry if i missed in it all the above,

heard once that the ED's can handle 8psi before they start packing it in with standard ecu, inj?? any turth??

also where is the best place to get oil pressure from?? is there enough oil pressure to take it before/after it goes thought the filter??
Take it from me, dont d**k around. I was running mine on 10 psi for about 4 months and in that time blew 4 head gaskets and 1 motor (only just got it back on the road after changing the engine on the weekend). All this because I was too lazy to have the ecu fitted and tuned. I had a 12:1 rising rate reg, retarded the timing and walbro pump and it still did all that damage. If your boosting it, run and aftermarket ecu. As for oil supply for the turbo, fit a tee piece where the oil sender is fitted.

 

_________________

The artist formerly known as seton005 (and allegedly The_Murph).

When I was growing up, we were so poor we could'nt even afford to pay attention.

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 11:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1960

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 22 images

Power: 315 rwkw

Location: Under the flight path of incoming packpackers
NSW, Australia

glenneaux wrote:
Where abouts did you mount them?

I might just install new ones if its not too much trouble to make the 2 ecu's share them..


water temp is where the orig sensor was... but the standard guage no longer works and Im too lazy to mount both sensors. I use the temp readout on the wolfs controller.
Air temp sensor is mounted in the intercooler pipe just befor the throttle body.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:32 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names