Fordmods Logo

How much boost is on a stock au3 

 

Page 1 of 3 [ 36 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: How much boost is on a stock au3
Posted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 3:16 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 84

Joined: 1st Dec 2009

Ride: ford au3

Power: 127 rwkw

Location: muswellbrook
NSW, Australia

well i found a cheap turbo kit on eBay just wondering how much could i run on my car with out doing any damage?

 

_________________

2001 au3 ford falcon
170.8rwhp

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How much boost is on a stock au3
Posted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 6:19 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

i think 10 psi will be fine, aslong as its tuned right...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How much boost is on a stock au3
Posted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 7:10 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 84

Joined: 1st Dec 2009

Ride: ford au3

Power: 127 rwkw

Location: muswellbrook
NSW, Australia

hmmm i might run 5psi till i get the j3 chip

 

_________________

2001 au3 ford falcon
170.8rwhp

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How much boost is on a stock au3
Posted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 7:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 1353

Joined: 15th Mar 2007

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: AU XR6

Power: 171 rwkw

Location: thornton
NSW, Australia

polzin wrote:
hmmm i might run 5psi till i get the j3 chip


dont use a j3 on an au, use a flash tuner.

 

_________________

9/98 AU1 XR6hp-about to retire from the road and be reborn on the race track.
86 ZL mint grandpa spec with premo sound and 150000km
07 TTG 60000km stock as, mods to come.
97 el futura about to be MOCKed

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How much boost is on a stock au3
Posted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 7:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

You cant run more than 2psi without a flash tune or fuel cut defender anyway.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How much boost is on a stock au3
Posted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 9:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 9453

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Fordrunner 5.0 Turbo

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

Wont a flash tune be useless as well as its only a 1 bar map sensor? Either fuel cut defender or aftermarket ECU if the budget allows.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How much boost is on a stock au3
Posted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 9:18 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

aftermarket ecu ftw!!!!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How much boost is on a stock au3
Posted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 9:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

You can fit an xr6t 2 bar map sensor and flash tune it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How much boost is on a stock au3
Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 9:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 747

Joined: 16th Dec 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU2 75th Anniversary Futura

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Dansedgli wrote:
You can fit an xr6t 2 bar map sensor and flash tune it.


Hey Dan,

sorry for the thread mine, but can you do the 2 bar map sensor and use it on a J3 for the AU with boost?

 

_________________

Cheers
Shav

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How much boost is on a stock au3
Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 9:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Yes. Thats what I have now.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How much boost is on a stock au3
Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 9:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 747

Joined: 16th Dec 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU2 75th Anniversary Futura

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Dansedgli wrote:
Yes. Thats what I have now.


I need to get this done on my car asap, but the tuners here in SA havent seen it done so they say it cannot be done. How hard was it to tune and did you come across any issues when you tuned it?

 

_________________

Cheers
Shav

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How much boost is on a stock au3
Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 9:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Its a piece of cake.

You just put the stock NA map parameters into the datalogger and go for a drive. SLY has listed them somewhere on here.

Tune the AFR spots that are out.

Adjust the timing to suit.

The only hard part is that the tunerpro software lists the spark and fuel tables as though they are from 0 in hg to 30.5 in hg as opposed to 0 in hg to 20psi or whatever so I find its easiest to put the NA map values in and let the datalogger tell you which cells to tune.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How much boost is on a stock au3
Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 10:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 747

Joined: 16th Dec 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU2 75th Anniversary Futura

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

sounds decent mate. Im interested. I'd like to get a tuner to do the work properly on the dyno. Im not skilled enough to tackle this myself. Would it be ok if I copied and pasted what you wrote on an email and sent it to the tuner?

 

_________________

Cheers
Shav

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How much boost is on a stock au3
Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 10:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Go for it.

Dont forget if your AFR's are good now there is probably no need to go 2 bar. You arent running that much boost.

Jason can copy your current tune to a J3 chip then then the tuner would only need to make small adjustments if any.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How much boost is on a stock au3
Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 10:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 747

Joined: 16th Dec 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU2 75th Anniversary Futura

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Dansedgli wrote:
Go for it.

Dont forget if your AFR's are good now there is probably no need to go 2 bar. You arent running that much boost.

Jason can copy your current tune to a J3 chip then then the tuner would only need to make small adjustments if any.


That's basically what I want to do.

Ive only spoken to 1 tuner so far and he seems to think J3 on a boosted AU2 cannot be done. I've yet to speak to Bruce about it though so I will see how that turns out too as he does J3.

I am getting flat spots now as it is. Its ok after a flash but after a few days it comes back due to the ecu learning new fuel parameters and compensating for it. The flat spot is between 1800 and 2400rpm. Also at idle, I occasionally get the feeling like the engine is flooded and it hesitates to get going.

 

_________________

Cheers
Shav

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 3:20 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names