Is my turbo too big? 

Page 1 of 2 [ 28 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

Post subject: Is my turbo too big?
Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2005 5:19 pm 
Stock as a Rock

Ride: XHII ute

QLD, Australia

hi

just wondering if anyone that knows a bit about turbo falcons could give me a bit of advice.
Im a qualified mechanic so i know what im doing.

Ive got a white ea spack mpi 3.45 gears, stock as a rock, 5 speed, 25 spline axles, single spinner, 300,000km (engine has done 50,000 since rebuild) 16" el xr8 wheels
Specs are:

Holset HC3 off a Cummins VT504 (504 cu in diesel)

This is what I have measured: (approx)

compressor wheel minor - 60mm
compressor mouth - 103mm OD
compressor outlet - 55mm
compressor measure about 23cm across

turbine wheel - minor - 72mm
turbine outlet - 91mm
turbine twin entry 40*60mm(each) twin entry

Weighs 19kg
its all planned out just have a couple of small questions. not sure if the turbo i have is too big or not. i dont want it too be too laggy. what do y'all think?
I got the snail off a friend for nothing so I think its worth a try.
My goal is about 250-300kw at the wheels only want mid to high 11's.
Ive build a twin turbo 253 vh commodore before and a turbo & nitrous gsxr1100 can provide pics if you dont believe me.

ANY GUESSES WHEN IT WOULD MAKE BOOST?
I think it is roughly the equal to a garrett T66???

Without getting into too much details this is what I have planned:

3" exhaust hollow cat one hooker aero chamber muffler dumped before diff.
homemade log style manifold using steam pipe bends
50mm wastegate (prob a ebay special)
Bosch 984 pump mounted in tank
stock fuel lines
FMU 4:1 from the US
1" oil drain turbo to sump
stock injectors, ecu regulator
water/methanol injection
no intercooler
boost gauge, fuel pressure gauge & 10 led jaycar mixture meter all in dash
2* 5/8" hose for rocker vents between airfilter & turbo
3" pipe between turbo and stock manifold & throttle body