Fordmods Logo

M90 on i6 install updates [updated!] 

 

Page 4 of 32 [ 466 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 32  Next

 
Posted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

frankieh wrote:
As you can see, the charger is almost totally concealed... That aspect has worked flawlessly and I'm stoked.


Paint the kent matt black..... then it wont exist :wink:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 10:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 3440

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I was planning on all the pipework being matt black..don't know if I'd do the charger that color as well... If it is at all obvious when in the car, I'll just make up an ABS plastic shroud for the nose of the charger.. that will hide it nicely and is flat black.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 9:38 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 60

Joined: 16th Apr 2008

Ride: 86 FE LTD Long,Black&Low

Location: Bowen
QLD, Australia

Just a thought and i hope i am wrong here but if u have dropped the a/c pump down, how far ?
Will there be any clearance issues with the front crossmember ( i am not entirely savvy on the eabd frame so i assume it still lies directly beneath the crank pulleys ?)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 11:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 3440

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Nope, no problem because I used an EA air con bracket.. it fit when it was on the EA and the blocks are pretty much identical so I'd be intensely surprised if it didn't fit now.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 11:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 3440

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Question for people.... Would anyone know if I should start looking for for an EL ER6 Turbo ECU?

I'm thinking that an XR6 turbo ECU would be the go in addition to the rising rate reg and an upgraded fuel pump.. (probably together with AU injectors)

I don't want to go for a aftermarket ECU unless it's absolutely necessary.

any thoughts?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 11:58 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

??? el xr6 turbo ecu????
no such thing!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 11:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

EL didnt make an XR6 turbo... but definately go the XR6 ECU. it brings out alot more power.

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 12:05 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 3440

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

LOL, right you are... brain freeze..

Its a shame they didn't.. would be perfect for the supercharger project.

I'm still looking for an XR6 ECU at the right price I have ebay search automatically email me every day about it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 3:26 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 2058

Joined: 25th May 2006

Ride: ef xr8

Power: 229 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Go a switch chip eliminator.

With a positive displacement blower, you will need fuel at the start as it will be boosting very early, a lean out and it could be a head gasket.

It is a little bit different to a turbo set up too as keeping the revs low will see a fair bit of boost too.

The longevity of the motor can be jepordised by a bad tune or lean out, I wouldnt be taking the risk, plus as well it will be helping the economy while being in safe parameters.

Switch chip would be by far the cheapest solution for tuning, EMS would be more but just as effective, if not more.

 

_________________

Because of Beer, Thirst is a Beautiful Thing!

'95 EF XR8 auto, Advance headers, 3" exhaust, Cobra manifold, BBK 75mm throttle body , 80MM Marauder MAF, Vortech V2 T Trim , 307 rwhp, 405 ft/lb 13.2 @ 105 MPH

Now N/A (permanent Lag) - AFR 165's, Comp XE270 cam, 1.6 RR - 269 rwhp 14.1 @ 102mph.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 10:37 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 3440

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Just took a look at the site:

Eliminator Switch Chips for EA-EL Falcons
'E Series' Eliminator Switch Chip (Blank) $ 595.00
'E Series' Eliminator Program Selector & Cable Upgrade $ 65.00


http://www.capa.com.au/prices_ford_power_parts.htm

That isn't too bad.. might break my 1500 dollar target though... have to run some numbers.. I do like the idea of a power and economy tune though... :-)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 2:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 3440

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

That looks really cool, but I have an EA with an EL computer in it.. I really doubt that the diag port near the fuse box is still functional for the new ECU so I'd have nowhere to plug the switcher in would I???

Has anyone else wired in an EL diag port or fixed the EA one to use with EL ECU?

rgds

Frank
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 3:10 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

It doesn't plug into the diag port AFAIK, it'll need to be the J3 port on the ECU, ala chiptorque and twEECer.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 3:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 3440

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Really?

I was looking here:
http://www.capa.com.au/ford_flash_tuner.htm

down the bottom.. its' the flash tuner thing right?

it says:
1. Plug the flash tuner into the diagnostics port of your car (under the fuse panel).

2. With the key off, use the ‘SELECT’ button to choose the program you wish to install into the car (Factory, 1, 2 or 3).


Am I wrong?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 3:23 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

It's not a flash tuner , that is for BA-BF, and I think AUII and III as well?
Thats why the called it a "chip", it requires it to be plugged in all the time when you are using it.
It doesn't actually change whats in the ECU, it just forces the ECU to read off the chip.
But instead of being a chip that modifies signals to trick the ECU, ala unichip or similar, it modifies factory maps.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 3:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 3440

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Sweet, so the thing I need is a box that wires into the loom (or plugs into the socket under the ECU?) and is switched with it's own switch mechanism?

Just found this online:
http://209.85.141.104/search?q=cache:ok ... cd=1&gl=au

Capa have a terrible site.. at least for looking up the switch chips as they don't seem to have any documentation other than wholesale pdf's and a news archive article.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 4 of 32  [ 466 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 32  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 1:19 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names