Fordmods Logo

stg 3 cam with turbo 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: stg 3 cam with turbo
Posted: Wed Feb 14, 2007 10:41 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 236

Joined: 2nd Jun 2005

Location: melbourn
VIC, Australia

i had a stg 3 crow cam and (with the turbo) the car was making power above 4500rpm? it had the slugishest take off but when it gets to 4500 it just pulled away.... what is the best cam for me? stg 2? or could i retard cam timing so that i start making power just about 2000 when turbo spools up? and how much tooths do i go back?

 

_________________

4LTR-JET: 9.1 @150mph!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 14, 2007 11:09 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 9453

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Fordrunner 5.0 Turbo

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

You advance the came to bring it in earlier and retard to bring it later. Try and get a cam matched to the boost threshold of the turbo or go one step down from that. If your car spools up at 2000rpm then get a cam that has a rev range from 2000 to whatever you want. If there is no cam that kicks in from 2000 then get one that kicks in earlier. That's if you are buying off the shelf cams and can't afford to go for a custom billet cam.

If you got the cash then go for a custom grind. ebs_4l has a pretty lumpy custom grind cam in his car and from what I've heard it defies all logic and kicks in pretty early compared to other turbo cars with big cams which don't move till over 4000rpm.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 9:23 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 236

Joined: 2nd Jun 2005

Location: melbourn
VIC, Australia

by advancing cam timing will i loose top end power or would i still have the top end power as std cam timing position?

 

_________________

4LTR-JET: 9.1 @150mph!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:24 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 9453

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Fordrunner 5.0 Turbo

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

You'd lose a little. Its just that the fun ends a few hundred rpm earlier if that matters. Don't get caught up in numbers on a page unless you have a dyno queen. I'd take a loss of 500rpm up top and have my torque curve come up 500rpm earlier any day of the week compared to having nothing down low and everything up top in one hit.

Just took my brothers VL turbo out for a spin and might I say that on 15psi it is a real pleasure to drive. shh just don't let him know ok 8-)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:32 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Whack a standard or XR cam in there and see what the difference is before deciding on a new cam. The XR cams are supposed to be pretty good.

What are the specs of your setup?

I got a custom grind done by CVE for my EA and the difference was awesome on boost. Boost came on earlier and the cam extended the power range from 4500 to over 5000.

The only problem was that my standard computer and microfueler setup couldnt cope with the loss of Vacuum at idle. It fouled plugs often. The cam would be awesome with an aftermarket ECU.

Ive since put in a BA motor where stock cams are good for 500rwkw :P
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 5:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 927

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Falcon EGas

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I thought that with boost setups you didn't want to be running much overlap as you are basically sending boost through your engine before it has the chance to combust?

Am I on the money at all here?

 

_________________

BA Falcon Futura on EGas. Stock as...

EF 5 speed manual; PH 4480 Pacemaker Headers; 2 1/2" Lukey Mandrel Bent System; Hi Flow Walker Cat; Stage 3 Crow Cam; ChipTorque Chip; 3" Mandrel Bent Intake; K&N Pod Filter; Low Pedders Suspension; 17" EL GT Champagne Rims; RPM Series Clutch

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 5:45 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 97

Joined: 5th Mar 2006

Location: qld
QLD, Australia

air/fuel mixture will spool the turbo up even more so than normal air.. overlap is one thing you want in a turbo cam
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 6:11 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 236

Joined: 2nd Jun 2005

Location: melbourn
VIC, Australia

the carank was at top dead centre and the cam gear was flush with the head? so how much degrees do i need to advance it?Power starts at about 4500rpm and all the way to redline ..

 

_________________

4LTR-JET: 9.1 @150mph!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 6:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 868

Joined: 23rd Sep 2005

Ride: eb falcon

Location: kadina
SA, Australia

do you have a vernier (adjustable) cam gear??? you do not move the gear by the teeth, you move it slightly via an adjustable gear

the old camshaft VS turbo issue seems to pop up every now and then..

i do have probably the biggest cam of any of the forum members that i know of, i have over 300deg (303exactly) advertised duration..... 242deg at .050 and .576" lift... my cam is so bloody big that i had to grind some material from the underside of my rockers because my lobes were jamming againt the rockers.

it does spool up real nice, it makes 16psi at about 3000rpm. it goes into positive pressure from around 2000.

i would like to fit a better flowing intercooler, a 3.5in exhaust, and make a manifold from 1.5in steampipe not 1.25. something a bit better flowing

oh, also, i have not yet seen where the power curve ends for my cam, as i have not yet revved it hard enough to see the power curve start to die, my limiter is at 5800, and it certainly aint starting to nose over at that point, i suspect peak power would easily be 6500rpm.... damn i need some forged internals.... LOL

 

_________________

EB 4L, 8.4:1, R154, GT4202r, 4in exhaust, Greenslade Engineering exhaust manifold, plenum chamber, 90mm throttle, Garrett W2A cooler, Surecam custom, autronic SM4, Bosch 120lb, Crane HI-6, LX-92, LM-1, Turbosmart Reg, 2x bosch 044, turbosmart 48 gate. 470kw+ @ 18PSI

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 6:47 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 236

Joined: 2nd Jun 2005

Location: melbourn
VIC, Australia

i have the adjustable vernier cam gear but its not installed in the car yet.... also i went to calder a while ago with the turbo on .... the car had the crappest take off but however when it hit 4500rpm it just pulled away.... costing me slow times but loads of torque up top and power

 

_________________

4LTR-JET: 9.1 @150mph!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 11:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 868

Joined: 23rd Sep 2005

Ride: eb falcon

Location: kadina
SA, Australia

has your car been dynoed?????????

 

_________________

EB 4L, 8.4:1, R154, GT4202r, 4in exhaust, Greenslade Engineering exhaust manifold, plenum chamber, 90mm throttle, Garrett W2A cooler, Surecam custom, autronic SM4, Bosch 120lb, Crane HI-6, LX-92, LM-1, Turbosmart Reg, 2x bosch 044, turbosmart 48 gate. 470kw+ @ 18PSI

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 12:20 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 236

Joined: 2nd Jun 2005

Location: melbourn
VIC, Australia

ebs_4l wrote:
has your car been dynoed?????????


yes but cooler pipeing poped off few times and i had fuel issues (chipp needed alteration) and map sensor s**t its self.....

 

_________________

4LTR-JET: 9.1 @150mph!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 12:33 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 868

Joined: 23rd Sep 2005

Ride: eb falcon

Location: kadina
SA, Australia

no point asking here for camshaft advice to fix your problem, you need to get your tune sorted out first buddy...

 

_________________

EB 4L, 8.4:1, R154, GT4202r, 4in exhaust, Greenslade Engineering exhaust manifold, plenum chamber, 90mm throttle, Garrett W2A cooler, Surecam custom, autronic SM4, Bosch 120lb, Crane HI-6, LX-92, LM-1, Turbosmart Reg, 2x bosch 044, turbosmart 48 gate. 470kw+ @ 18PSI

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 12:44 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 236

Joined: 2nd Jun 2005

Location: melbourn
VIC, Australia

ebs_4l wrote:
no point asking here for camshaft advice to fix your problem, you need to get your tune sorted out first buddy...


i have put stock cam back in since the last dyno, fixed piping poping off and its sits on 12.5 PSI without the map sensor s**t it self after a modification to it, also the chip been sent back for more fuel.....so power is ?

 

_________________

4LTR-JET: 9.1 @150mph!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 1:24 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 868

Joined: 23rd Sep 2005

Ride: eb falcon

Location: kadina
SA, Australia

still, unless you have a a/f meter setup in your car (i do) you have 0 idea of what your tune is like, and without aftermarket management, you have 0 idea on how much timing you are running...

without a timing map it is very hard to diagnose a cam timing problem, when we dont dont know, and you cant tell us how much ign timing you have at any given point... this is just 1 of the reasons i am a big campaigner for stand alone management vs an e-series edit/chip

what does your fuel system consist of??? what size injectors and pump???

 

_________________

EB 4L, 8.4:1, R154, GT4202r, 4in exhaust, Greenslade Engineering exhaust manifold, plenum chamber, 90mm throttle, Garrett W2A cooler, Surecam custom, autronic SM4, Bosch 120lb, Crane HI-6, LX-92, LM-1, Turbosmart Reg, 2x bosch 044, turbosmart 48 gate. 470kw+ @ 18PSI

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 8:39 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names