Fordmods Logo

Which Plenum? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Which Plenum?
Posted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 7:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 862

Joined: 8th May 2005

Ride: BA Wagon Turbo, Ba Fairlane G220

Location: Colac
VIC, Australia

Hi guys been looking around for plenums. What are you guys opinions on which plenums are the best? I am sort of leaning towards the snort one at the minute basically just because of price. Are they any good?

Also if anyone has one they want to sell I will also look into that too. :D

 

_________________

Congo Green Ba Wagon With F6 6 Speed Manual Driveline.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Which Plenum?
Posted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 9:06 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 236

Joined: 2nd Jun 2005

Location: melbourn
VIC, Australia

Sloxr6 wrote:
Hi guys been looking around for plenums. What are you guys opinions on which plenums are the best? I am sort of leaning towards the snort one at the minute basically just because of price. Are they any good?

Also if anyone has one they want to sell I will also look into that too. :D


^have they been tested? Nizpro is good, the stock eb-ed manifolds are great.

 

_________________

4LTR-JET: 9.1 @150mph!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Which Plenum?
Posted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 10:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 862

Joined: 8th May 2005

Ride: BA Wagon Turbo, Ba Fairlane G220

Location: Colac
VIC, Australia

Quote:
^have they been tested? Nizpro is good, the stock eb-ed manifolds are great.


Yeah not sure about if they have but know a few people have them so hopefully there are some opinions out there yeah looked at the nizpro ones but the polished look looks heaps better imho. (not to mention 500 bucks less :shock: )

 

_________________

Congo Green Ba Wagon With F6 6 Speed Manual Driveline.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Which Plenum?
Posted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 12:08 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 64

Posts: 3552

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Power: 482 rwkw

Location: Penrith
NSW, Australia

Doesn't really matter unless your building a 1000 h.p engine..
The shorter runners suit turbo engines much more than long runners.. Besides torque is NOT an issue when boosted..
Having manifold boxed / larger plenum assists in better, even flow.. With the added advantage of having throttle body at the front to shorten intercooler piping..
No point in spending big $$$ on plenum!!

 

_________________

As in ZOOM 126 edition
331 Dart block,3.25/ 4340 steel crank, Oliver rods,TFS ported track heat heads, TFS track heat inlet Twin SC61 turbo's
Project 1UZ-EF has started.. S475 Turbo 4.0 V8 Mustang Celica.....

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Which Plenum?
Posted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 2:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1427

Joined: 21st May 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

How do you guys with the snort/nispro type plenum (with TB at the front) go with cruise control? Can you replace the cable in the cruise control module to allow for a custom made, longer cable?

 

_________________

EL Fairmont Ghia - Manual - Supercharged
- The Car
- The Headlights

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Which Plenum?
Posted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 9:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 51

Posts: 918

Joined: 6th Aug 2007

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BA XR8

Location: Kellyville
NSW, Australia

MADXF wrote:
How do you guys with the snort/nispro type plenum (with TB at the front) go with cruise control? Can you replace the cable in the cruise control module to allow for a custom made, longer cable?

If the later model cruise control works the same as the EA Ghia i had a few yrs back, there is no way i would want it on a turbo car. maybe the XR6T is good, i dont know, never been in one. There is control with the right foot. My car would be doing a 100km, and the pedal would be less than 10% down.

Cheers

Daz

 

_________________

BA XR8 Boss 260
DAZFAB......Now Mobile
Mink = GAY
DAZFAB MEMBERS ,,,,DA22LE, XTT909, TERRORISTGHIA, TROYMAN, SWC, FAT245

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Which Plenum?
Posted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 12:42 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1427

Joined: 21st May 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Was the EA all vacuum controlled? The EF/L is electronic controls, with a vacuum driver to aply the throttle I believe. I dont see how it would be a problem, it is just there to maintain the current raod speed as seen by the ECU.

 

_________________

EL Fairmont Ghia - Manual - Supercharged
- The Car
- The Headlights

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Which Plenum?
Posted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 8:08 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

I had cruise control in that turbo AU I had. It worked fine with 300ish rwkw. I would think a BA would be similar.

I could get it to dose without using my foot :P
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Which Plenum?
Posted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 11:48 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 4307

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: EF Falcon XT-T

Location: Mornington Peninsula
VIC, Australia

You could setup Cruise with a plenum.
Just need to lengthen the cruise cable.

should be able to take the cable out of the unit and take it to somewhere that does cables.

I'm running a Snort Plenum, but havn't gotten around to getting cruise working again.
saying that, i don't know if i'm going to bother.

 

_________________

FALCN6 - EF GLi Turbo, 20" Rims, Air Bag Suspension, Straight LPG, 225rwkw
DTHWGN - EA GL Wagon, LTD Interior, Satin Black, 5.0, Turbo
RACER - EF Futura , 5.0, 5 Speed
PROJECT - 83 Thunderbird, Lowered, 18" Billet Wheels
DAILY - BA Fairmont Ghia 5.4 3V

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Which Plenum?
Posted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 12:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 862

Joined: 8th May 2005

Ride: BA Wagon Turbo, Ba Fairlane G220

Location: Colac
VIC, Australia

EFFalcon wrote:
You could setup Cruise with a plenum.
Just need to lengthen the cruise cable.

should be able to take the cable out of the unit and take it to somewhere that does cables.

I'm running a Snort Plenum, but havn't gotten around to getting cruise working again.
saying that, i don't know if i'm going to bother.


Now this is what i am looking for. Did you notice any difference with the snort plenum over the standard runners?

 

_________________

Congo Green Ba Wagon With F6 6 Speed Manual Driveline.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:10 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names