Fordmods Logo

XR6T donk into MKII Ghia. 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: XR6T donk into MKII Ghia.
Posted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 12:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1008

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Ride: ED V8

Location: driving under the sun........now!
WA, Australia

Gone off the whole supercharger thing..... looks like too many head aches.

Has anyone done an engine swap of the XR6T motor into a BA fairmont ghia?

If so, is the engine bay loom (which would obviously be different to the standard one) plug and play with the body and dash looms of the ghia?

Also, does the standard bumper on the ghia fit the intercooler and piping?

Cheers,

 

_________________

ED XR8 Spri-mitatio-nt

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 12:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 4182

Joined: 30th May 2005

Ride: 1993 EB XR8

Location: BrisVegas
QLD, Australia

good luck, you will need an entire front cut of the XR6t (loom, ECU, Box) better off buying an XR6T and putting the fairmont stuff on it

 

_________________

ILL60 - EF XR8, Sunroof, Ticky Kit, 19x8.5/19x11 TE37's, 347, AFr185's, TFS BoxRcustom converter, Hurst Quarterstick, huge billet cam.

51TER - DL LTD. Stock.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: XR6T donk into MKII Ghia.
Posted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 1:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 3519

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA XR8, XD Fairmont Ghia

Location: Ferntree Gully
VIC, Australia

philaddis wrote:
Gone off the whole supercharger thing..... looks like too many head aches.

Has anyone done an engine swap of the XR6T motor into a BA fairmont ghia?

If so, is the engine bay loom (which would obviously be different to the standard one) plug and play with the body and dash looms of the ghia?

Also, does the standard bumper on the ghia fit the intercooler and piping?

Cheers,


easy job. just cost a couple of $$$ for sure.

you can even go a BF 6 speed auto into it .
hooking it up wiring wise isnt that hard just need a turbo loom . and turbo pcm. plug it all together then program at ford.

would be a good thing. something that ford should have released IMO
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 2:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1008

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Ride: ED V8

Location: driving under the sun........now!
WA, Australia

thanks for the reply.........

could you cost me a complete kit to do the job. ie motor, loom and intercooler and piping etc.

By saying, turbo loom, is that a seperate loom just for the turbo and ancilliaries or is it a complete new engine bay loom?

I am not sure about the ZF tho, I think that might be a bit exy.....but you might as well cost that as well if you have any handy! Also, if going down that 6 speed auto path, is the loom for the two boxes the same?

 

_________________

ED XR8 Spri-mitatio-nt

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 3:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1133

Joined: 15th Oct 2005

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: AU Fairmont I6

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 3:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

I saw that car on the street yesterday. It is pretty nice!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 8:59 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

hey i'd be keen to help ya do the swap if u wanna?
im a ford mechanic too
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 9:12 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 58

Joined: 6th Mar 2006

Ride: BA XR6T

Location: wangaratta
VIC, Australia

isnt this what the new force 6 will pritty much be but in FPV / trim?
go a manual then it would be really trick.

 

_________________

05 XR6T shockwave prem sound t56 k&n 2cai center muffler mod / 95 ef Fairmont ghia stock.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 2:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1008

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Ride: ED V8

Location: driving under the sun........now!
WA, Australia

xpression wrote:
hey i'd be keen to help ya do the swap if u wanna?
im a ford mechanic too


Thanks for that. I will do some costings and make a decision from there.

Do you think that there are any obvious pitfalls with this route? or should it all come together pretty nicely?

 

_________________

ED XR8 Spri-mitatio-nt

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 7:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1960

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 22 images

Power: 315 rwkw

Location: Under the flight path of incoming packpackers
NSW, Australia

Why dont you just sell it/ trade it on an xr6t? Atleast you wont have any engineering hassles.
But, if I was you and good on ya for doing the swap, grab an F6 motor as they are stronger... also your auto will not take much more than 250wkws so grab a T56 or ZF while your doing it... then do all the normal mods and youve got yourself a fast ghia
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 7:53 am 
Fordmods Audio and Turbo Expert
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 2121

Joined: 14th Dec 2004

Ride: FG Turbo Territoty Ghia

Location: Traralgon
VIC, Australia

CHEF wrote:
Why dont you just sell it/ trade it on an xr6t? Atleast you wont have any engineering hassles.
But, if I was you and good on ya for doing the swap, grab an F6 motor as they are stronger... also your auto will not take much more than 250wkws so grab a T56 or ZF while your doing it... then do all the normal mods and youve got yourself a fast ghia
Sounds expensive with those changes..........

Why not just grab a F6 complete.

 

_________________


Pro Class
1st Super Tech - Summernats 2007
Australian SQ Champion - Am Show 2004
Australian SQ Champion – Pro Show 2006 & Best of Show
Ford Champion - Melbourne 2004 & 2006
451.5wkw - now SOLD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 11:39 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1008

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Ride: ED V8

Location: driving under the sun........now!
WA, Australia

pyroay wrote:
CHEF wrote:
Why dont you just sell it/ trade it on an xr6t? Atleast you wont have any engineering hassles.
But, if I was you and good on ya for doing the swap, grab an F6 motor as they are stronger... also your auto will not take much more than 250wkws so grab a T56 or ZF while your doing it... then do all the normal mods and youve got yourself a fast ghia
Sounds expensive with those changes..........

Why not just grab a F6 complete.


I picked up my car for 22 grand. I figure to get the XR6 T motor and loom it will cost me between 5 and 7. I can drop it all in myself in a couple of days. All I need then is a reflash of the computer ( or so i've been told (to be confirmed)) and then find an LSD centre (my open diff struggles as it is!)

I've priced up second hand F6's and you can't get into one of them for under 45g (sticker price, so wipe off a couple of dollars from that) and having had a ghia, I now do not want to go back to a bog stock interior!

When I do the maths, it works out in favour of the conversion. Only unknown is the cost at resale....... but then I will keep the car for a long time anywho.......

I then wind up with a quick

 

_________________

ED XR8 Spri-mitatio-nt

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 11:42 am 
Fordmods Audio and Turbo Expert
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 2121

Joined: 14th Dec 2004

Ride: FG Turbo Territoty Ghia

Location: Traralgon
VIC, Australia

Fair enough everyones entitled to their own thoughts.

i think you will end up spending a lot of time making it work and chasing aprts for it+ a fair bit of money, and wont have the resale value but hey i guess thats what modifying cars is about.

At least it will be unique.

 

_________________


Pro Class
1st Super Tech - Summernats 2007
Australian SQ Champion - Am Show 2004
Australian SQ Champion – Pro Show 2006 & Best of Show
Ford Champion - Melbourne 2004 & 2006
451.5wkw - now SOLD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 10:22 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

basically you should need the following

Turbo Motor including both manifolds (turbo cars dont have the variable length intake).

Complete engine bay wiring loom.

XR6 T Exhaust (or suitable aftermarket) (including different cat etc)

ECU: you may be able to get a ford dealer to reflash the PCM with turbo software however its possible (and likely) that the non turbo ecu won't have some of the required circuitry inside. I'll look into this one...

turbo fuel pump and pressure reg and injectors..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 12:25 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 868

Joined: 23rd Sep 2005

Ride: eb falcon

Location: kadina
SA, Australia

fit the intercooler/piping

 

_________________

EB 4L, 8.4:1, R154, GT4202r, 4in exhaust, Greenslade Engineering exhaust manifold, plenum chamber, 90mm throttle, Garrett W2A cooler, Surecam custom, autronic SM4, Bosch 120lb, Crane HI-6, LX-92, LM-1, Turbosmart Reg, 2x bosch 044, turbosmart 48 gate. 470kw+ @ 18PSI

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:38 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names