Fordmods Logo

aftermarket MAF for windsor 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: aftermarket MAF for windsor
Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 7:08 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 125

Joined: 10th Apr 2006

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: EB Fairmont V8

Location: North Brisbane
QLD, Australia

What is the best aftermarket MAF solution for an EB I windsor?

Thanks
Pat
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 8:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 425

Joined: 1st Dec 2004

Location: Noble Park
VIC, Australia

get a Pro M MAF, think that's wat most windsor owners opt for. there's also C & L which is popular too. Im after a Pro M maf and 24's for my EL now. Try the corral forums or ebay.com
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 9:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 830

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: au xr8 & 5.0 eb

Location: yarrawonga
VIC, Australia

ive got an eb1 5.0 and ford disconected it and said it shouldnt have one as it has an air flow meter???? dont know but its been like it for years and runs well,dont know its all over my head im a carby man lol
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 13, 2006 11:35 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 140

Joined: 12th May 2006

Gallery: 17 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

A MAF is an air flow meter. Also Pro-M and C&L are pretty much the same thing - C&L had Pro-M manufacture part of their MAF range. You'll need one with the flange though and most in the US are non-flanged, unless of course you are going to run a pod filter.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 8:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 830

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: au xr8 & 5.0 eb

Location: yarrawonga
VIC, Australia

Free347 wrote:
A MAF is an air flow meter. Also Pro-M and C&L are pretty much the same thing - C&L had Pro-M manufacture part of their MAF range. You'll need one with the flange though and most in the US are non-flanged, unless of course you are going to run a pod filter.
so because my airflow meter is in the pipe from the air filter whats the other thing on the firewall with wires and (used to have vacume)going to it i allways thought it was a maf sensor???
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 9:16 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 140

Joined: 12th May 2006

Gallery: 17 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

That would be a MAP (manifold absolute pressure) sensor.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 11:01 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 311

Joined: 10th May 2005

Ride: ebxr8

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

v8fordman351 wrote:
Free347 wrote:
A MAF is an air flow meter. Also Pro-M and C&L are pretty much the same thing - C&L had Pro-M manufacture part of their MAF range. You'll need one with the flange though and most in the US are non-flanged, unless of course you are going to run a pod filter.
so because my airflow meter is in the pipe from the air filter whats the other thing on the firewall with wires and (used to have vacume)going to it i allways thought it was a maf sensor???


on the v8's its called a bap sensor (barometric absolute pressure sensor)

 

_________________

347, crane cam, Pro topline 180 heads, Edelbrock victor efi intake, 80mm C&L maf, 75mm tb, 30lb injectors and 1/4 horse

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 11:50 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 125

Joined: 10th Apr 2006

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: EB Fairmont V8

Location: North Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Out of interest would it be possible to apply a later falcon MAF to an EB windsor? Would this be a benefit?

Just wanted to know if there is a cheaper option
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 3:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 1204

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia V8 Turbo

Power: 303 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

65mm AU ones hook straight up, just swap TPS.....you really wont see much gain if you don't do your intake though

 

_________________

EL Fairmont Ghia V8 Turbo 303rwkw
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 4:18 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Series one EB 5.0's have a BAP sensor. It looks like a MAP sensor because it is the same sensor left open to measure Barometric Absolute Pressure not Manifold Absolute Pressure(MAP) as it does on all sixes.

Pete.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 7:53 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 125

Joined: 10th Apr 2006

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: EB Fairmont V8

Location: North Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Offyaguts - would an AU MAP/BAP improve much on the stock one?

Pete - Do you think it is worth doing this mod if I go for an AU MAP/BAP?

My plan was to -

K & N filter
stainless intake pipe
EL GT Snorkel
and upgraded MAP/BAP

Is this the way to go? Would like to do it all in one hit... so thats air taken care of.

Cheers guys
Pat
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 10:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 830

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: au xr8 & 5.0 eb

Location: yarrawonga
VIC, Australia

XR9UTE wrote:
Series one EB 5.0's have a BAP sensor. It looks like a MAP sensor because it is the same sensor left open to measure Barometric Absolute Pressure not Manifold Absolute Pressure(MAP) as it does on all sixes.

Pete.
thanks for that it clears it up a bit,someone tryed to tell me it used to be a 6cyl because of it not being hooked to the manifold but it must just be a series 1 thing,lol i dont really care i never have to lift the bonnett on the old girl it just keeps going thats why ive still got it,best car ive ever owned by far (and probally the slowest lol)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 12:12 am 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

There is no reason to use an AU MAP sensor they do the same thing...read barometric pressure.
Certainly use the AU MAF with the hotwire off your original MAF....it reduces inlet restriction. It's not perfect, sometimes an adjustable fuel reg is required but you can get away with it in most situations.
A TwEECer will allow you to make it perfect because you'll be able to program in the exact MAF transfer function or even make your own MAF transfer function.

Cheers Lads,
Pete.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 30, 2006 1:12 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 125

Joined: 10th Apr 2006

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: EB Fairmont V8

Location: North Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Where can I learn more about this TwEEcEr Pete?

Cheers
Pat
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 30, 2006 11:18 am 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Pat5L wrote:
Where can I learn more about this TwEEcEr Pete?

Cheers
Pat


Hi Pat,

From me. Send me a PM with the catch code from your EEC.

Cheers,
Pete.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 9:56 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names