Fordmods Logo

AU maf?? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: AU maf??
Posted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 11:07 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 181

Joined: 10th Apr 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: XR6 Turbo, EF 5.0L V8 Turbo

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

hey guys,
i have a el2 xr8 engine and i was thinking about getting a bit more power out of it. is the maf a good place to start? it already has a twin 2 inch exhaust on it (althouh a bit small?) and will have some airbox/intake mods.
i herd if i get a au maf i can put the sensors out of mine into it and it'll work properly? is that right?
cheers!

 

_________________

EF V8T 11.54 @118mph

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 6:52 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 4355

Joined: 14th Dec 2005

Gallery: 36 images

Ride: Fairlane

Location: Newy
NSW, Australia

Yep dead right.

Get the AU Maf (70mm) plug your old wires into the new one.
Also while doingthis you should upgarde your Throttle body, i would suggest a 65mm, also off the AU.

dual 2 1/2" is a fine exhaust for the windsor. The right size IMO.

The only other things you could do to beef up te engine a bit would be changeing the heads to GT40P heads or aftermarket and underdrive pulleys (very cheap, and great power gains for price) .

BEN

 

_________________

The Lane Lives.... Finally!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 7:59 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 181

Joined: 10th Apr 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: XR6 Turbo, EF 5.0L V8 Turbo

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

ok so throttle body, maf and underdrives.. what sort of price do those go for?
also the exhaust is only twin 2inch... it sounds ok when going hard but not loud enough at idle. :)

 

_________________

EF V8T 11.54 @118mph

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 8:14 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 4355

Joined: 14th Dec 2005

Gallery: 36 images

Ride: Fairlane

Location: Newy
NSW, Australia

I picked up a T/b and maf for $200 and the underdrives go for $260 from BPT motorsport.

Exhaust is a bit small, IMO get a dual 2 1/2" with some decent hotdogs/mufflers and you will be much happier

 

_________________

The Lane Lives.... Finally!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 10:45 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 11

Joined: 5th Jul 2008

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

castlegreyskull wrote:
Yep dead right.

Get the AU Maf (70mm) plug your old wires into the new one.
Also while doingthis you should upgarde your Throttle body, i would suggest a 65mm, also off the AU.

dual 2 1/2" is a fine exhaust for the windsor. The right size IMO.

The only other things you could do to beef up te engine a bit would be changeing the heads to GT40P heads or aftermarket and underdrive pulleys (very cheap, and great power gains for price) .

BEN


So your saying you can just swap the metal housing on it? i thought it would screw up because the more air is going in than the MAF is calculating??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 11:02 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 181

Joined: 10th Apr 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: XR6 Turbo, EF 5.0L V8 Turbo

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

that is what i had thought...

there is a 70mm maf housing on ebay at the moment for $100.. sound any good? apparently it fits e series but its off a mustang.

 

_________________

EF V8T 11.54 @118mph

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 11:13 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 11

Joined: 5th Jul 2008

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

xhxrsix wrote:
that is what i had thought...

there is a 70mm maf housing on ebay at the moment for $100.. sound any good? apparently it fits e series but its off a mustang.


tell me how you go with it mate. i might just buy a housing n stick my electrics onto it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 6:37 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 4355

Joined: 14th Dec 2005

Gallery: 36 images

Ride: Fairlane

Location: Newy
NSW, Australia

yep, if you just have the housing, you take your old hotwire out of the old maf and put it in the new housing and bobs your uncle, bigger maf. The computer will relearn the air going through over a few days, and all is good!

 

_________________

The Lane Lives.... Finally!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 3:36 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 290

Joined: 23rd Feb 2006

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Make sure the sample tube were the electronics go into are of similar diameter and configuration James. It can ramp up the ignition timing curve excessively which may lose you power, cause detenation. In other words see Chris to reconfigure MAF tables.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 12:05 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names