Fordmods Logo

AU XR8 MAF into EL/NL V8. 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: AU XR8 MAF into EL/NL V8.
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

Does anybody know whether an AU XR8 MAF sensor will fit and work on an NL Fairlane V8???

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 527

Joined: 14th Mar 2005

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: ebxr8

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

I have been using an au maf on my ebxr8 for around 2yrs worked fine couldn't tell any difference really,but i plan to remove the bridge inside to give more flow but that will cause a prob or 2 but should be ok with my aftermarket eec once retuned.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 85

Posts: 1088

Joined: 30th Jan 2005

Gallery: 16 images

Ride: F350

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

In short, no. The car will run lean. If you were to change ECU or with electronics, trick the ECU yes it will work, but the MAF plug is different on AU cars
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 6:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

347stroker wrote:
In short, no. The car will run lean. If you were to change ECU or with electronics, trick the ECU yes it will work, but the MAF plug is different on AU cars


Thanks for that. Bugger.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 7:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 85

Posts: 1088

Joined: 30th Jan 2005

Gallery: 16 images

Ride: F350

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I have a few E series MAF's here
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 7:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

347stroker wrote:
I have a few E series MAF's here


The reason I asked was I had a look at the AU XR8 MAF, and the hole in it is huge compared to an EL V8 one, but I didn't take any notice of the connections.
Well, if it doesn't work, then it don't work.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 8:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 527

Joined: 14th Mar 2005

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: ebxr8

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

347stroker wrote:
In short, no. The car will run lean. If you were to change ECU or with electronics, trick the ECU yes it will work, but the MAF plug is different on AU cars


When i bought my maf of ebay it was advertised as either ebgt or elgt can't quite remember,but i was told on this forum it would be of an au,thing is it fitted straight onto my car i just unscrewed the electrics from my original maf and it fitted onto the new one no probs,is the au ment to be a different fit as in the plug that screws into the maf body. :?:

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 9:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 85

Posts: 1088

Joined: 30th Jan 2005

Gallery: 16 images

Ride: F350

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

ixlrate wrote:
347stroker wrote:
In short, no. The car will run lean. If you were to change ECU or with electronics, trick the ECU yes it will work, but the MAF plug is different on AU cars


When i bought my maf of ebay it was advertised as either ebgt or elgt can't quite remember,but i was told on this forum it would be of an au,thing is it fitted straight onto my car i just unscrewed the electrics from my original maf and it fitted onto the new one no probs,is the au ment to be a different fit as in the plug that screws into the maf body. :?:


You can do as you have done, but the thing is, your MAF elements are matched in the ECU to the smaller opening of the E series MAF. Fitting them into the larger AU style MAF works, but they dont read as much air passing, which creates a lean signal.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 10:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 527

Joined: 14th Mar 2005

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: ebxr8

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

347stroker wrote:
ixlrate wrote:
347stroker wrote:
In short, no. The car will run lean. If you were to change ECU or with electronics, trick the ECU yes it will work, but the MAF plug is different on AU cars


When i bought my maf of ebay it was advertised as either ebgt or elgt can't quite remember,but i was told on this forum it would be of an au,thing is it fitted straight onto my car i just unscrewed the electrics from my original maf and it fitted onto the new one no probs,is the au ment to be a different fit as in the plug that screws into the maf body. :?:


You can do as you have done, but the thing is, your MAF elements are matched in the ECU to the smaller opening of the E series MAF. Fitting them into the larger AU style MAF works, but they dont read as much air passing, which creates a lean signal.


Thanks for the reply but will tuning an aftermarket eec solve this problem :?:
plus if i remove the restricting bridge which i've seen them forsale with this mod which looks easy enough to do can that also be tuned to suit. :?:

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 10:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 85

Posts: 1088

Joined: 30th Jan 2005

Gallery: 16 images

Ride: F350

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

You can tune your EEC or get another aftermarket one yes, definatly.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2007 9:55 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 14

Joined: 30th Apr 2007

Ride: fairlane

Location: perth
WA, Australia

I have heard that you can swap the plug from the el maf to the au one and it still works or you can change the plugs the wires are the same colour. Im looking at doing the same but i wasnt sure how the ecc would read it
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: nudge
Posted: Tue May 01, 2007 2:47 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 372

Joined: 3rd Aug 2005

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: ef XR8 / xe fairmont ghia 393.

Location: clare valley
SA, Australia

nudge 22 i have changed the plugs on my injectors. i reckon u should be allright. oh yeah sorry to get off topic but will changing the plugs e series plugs to the au3 ev6 ones cause any dramas.

 

_________________

Ef xr8. Charged 9psi, tw 170 heads,track heat intakes,1.72 rockers, f303 cam, custom plazma man/ rapid cooler, 60lb injectors, tko600, sct eliminator, aeromotive fuel system.

393 xe ghia stage 5 als raceglides c4,9" full spool 31spline moser axles. Will be looking at running high 9s low 10's

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 01, 2007 11:25 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 14

Joined: 30th Apr 2007

Ride: fairlane

Location: perth
WA, Australia

I have been told by a ford mechanic that you can either swap the black box on the side of the afm on to the au one or you can rewire the au plug to the el harness or there is a plug available that you can pull the terminals out of the el one and put them in to the new one
Hopefully this isnt to confusing
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:17 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names