Fordmods Logo

Camshaft education 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

Post subject: Camshaft education
Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 2:12 am 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 6 images

Howdy motoring gurus.

I'd like to learn more about cams and how to read their specs and know how they will perform in an engine - namely mine. :)
My engine will most likely be mildly modified in the long run so bearing that in mind I'd be looking for a cam to improve my low and mid range power. Now, how do I choose which cam is appropriate? Will it depend on what mods the engine currently has or on what mods I intend to have?
While I believe I have a basic grasp of the cam and its function, I'd rather have it properly explained by people who understand them far better than I do. The more education, the better! :wink:

5.6L of carbon footprint.

Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 2:55 am 
Getting Side Ways

Ride: 320kw BA XR8

SA, Australia

I'm no expert but heres what I look at:

Lift - Obviously the more lift the more air can flow past the valve. Most production heads flow well to about .500" lift so you will see most aftermarket cams go to just above that. Lift is limiited mainly due to mechanical issues. Higher lift generally means more power across the rev range without effecting the overall engine dynamics (ie still retains good idle and low down power).

Duration - Larger duration increases power/torque but also moves the power band higher, menaing low down torque suffers but high end power increases. It also dereases idle quality. (On the V8's under 220 degrees @ 0.050" will give reasonable idle quality)

Lobe Seperation (LSA) - High LSA means good idle and good high end power. Lower LSA means decreased idle quality, better midrange but will limit high end power to some degree. (110LSA gives a passable idle probably more suited to manuals, 112-114 decent idle with auto or manual)