Fordmods Logo

computer trouble 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: computer trouble
Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 3:56 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 11

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: EB XR8

Location: kempsey
NSW, Australia

i recently brought a manual computer for my xr8 because it curently has an auto computer and when i put it in my car, my car wouldn't start so i was wondering if anyone knew how to reset the computer... or what the problem is
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 4:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

is your XR8 smartlock equipped? its the only thing i an think of straight up - if your car doesnt have smartlock and this ECU is a smartlock one it wouldnt work, either that or the smartlock system has to be retrained (if your car is smartlock equipped), but im no expert so i can only guess.

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 4:18 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 11

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: EB XR8

Location: kempsey
NSW, Australia

mmmm mine isnt smartlock equiped but i didn't ask about the computer... :(
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 4:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

that will be your problem right there, i dont think many EB XR8's were non smartlock, so your either going to have to source a non smartlock ECU, get the interface box that disables smartlock, OR upgrade to a full smartlock system

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 7:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1008

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Ride: ED V8

Location: driving under the sun........now!
WA, Australia

All EB series 1's and 2's to September/October will be compatible with your set up as they did not have smartlock.

Why did your car have an auto computer? Was it once an automatic? If so you should not have any NEED for a manual computer anyway (as long as you still have the auto computer loom). I am not the guru but you can fool the auto computer into thinking it is always in neutral with some electronic trickery and it will run as sweet as a nut!

 

_________________

ED XR8 Spri-mitatio-nt

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 8:22 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 11

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: EB XR8

Location: kempsey
NSW, Australia

its factory manual so i dont know why they put an auto in... the dealership reckoned that the manual computer got stolen so they put a new one in it they said it was manual but i got ford to check it out and they said it was a auto stationwagon.

my mate hade an auto 4.0L and he changed it to manual and to reset the new computer he had to leave it on reds for half an hour but that was smartlock equiped so i dunno????
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 8:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1440

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: 320kw BA XR8

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

EB XR8 5.0L wrote:
my mate hade an auto 4.0L and he changed it to manual and to reset the new computer he had to leave it on reds for half an hour but that was smartlock equiped so i dunno????


Resetting the computer in non smartlock vehicles only resets the fuel and idle trims, it has nothing to do with auto or manual or any other settings, so that won't help you.

Last edited by EDXR8 on Sat Oct 08, 2005 8:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 8:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

if you leave the key in the ignition for 40 minutes with it on accessory or something the smartlock system relearns and is all hunky dory after that.
But that is only to make smartlock relearn, doesnt actually do anything else.

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:28 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names