Fordmods Logo

Do i have a dead MAF 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 3 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Do i have a dead MAF
Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 2:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 942

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Ride: AU1 XR8

My car seems to have an intermittent(spelling) problem in that one day the car goes really great and then the next it starts to over heat and lack power, even happened as i went to a servo was really good only put $15 in just to top it up a little and drove off.... no power it died in the bum.

I have been reading around and decided on removing the maf for cleaning.

The wires didnt look too bad so i cleaned them with d**k sensor cleaner.

Took it for a drive and there was no difference so i disconnected the maf at the plug and started the car. The idle wasnt very steady just idle between 400 and 700 rpm, so i took it for a drive and i expected it to not run very well. I was shocked at how the car drove exactly the same as with the maf connected so my question is is my MAF shagged.

Any and all help would be much appreciated thanks Brad.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 2:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 1079

Joined: 19th May 2005

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: ELXR8 SERIES 2

Location: naracoorte
SA, Australia

could well be dead if the car drives the same with it disconected. my xr8 has a fit when you start it without the maf pluged in (yeah i forgot to plug it back in oneday :oops: ) a dead maf should throw up a fault code, have you done a diagnostic check?

 

_________________

EL XR8 SERIES 2, 5SPD, HOT CHILLI RED, 200 ODD RWKW OF V8 FUN AND GAMES

EF XR6, 5SPD, HERITAGE GREEN, AU XR6 VCT ENGINE

VL COMMODORE, 5SPD, WHITE

BA XT, AUTO, OFFSHORE BLUE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2008 3:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 942

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Ride: AU1 XR8

Yes about six months ago but nothing popped up about a dead maf, i dont get it the only difference with out it plugged in is that it idles a little funny but still runs the same as if it was plugged in.


Confused?????
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 3 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 2:39 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names