Fordmods Logo

EF xr8 Running rough 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: EF xr8 Running rough
Posted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 12:34 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 160

Joined: 28th Mar 2005

Ride: EF Falcon Futura

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Ok, I just purchased an EF xr8. Last night I found out it has had gt40ps installed on it, and god knows what else atm.

Ok its running rough. At idle, the idle is more so an up and down motion with a frequency of about 3 seconds. When under load, it runs rough dropping a cylinder or two.

No backfires have been heard.

Ok what Ive done.
Changed Leads
Changed Plugs
Inspected rotor and dizzy cap (Looks ok??)
Put through injector cleaner and took it for a bearl.
Unplugged MAF and it still ran the same, a little worse when accelerating.
Systematically took off one plug lead at a time and the difference at idle was the same for each cylinder


What I can Rule Out
Does not overheat
Water and oil crystal clear
Cannot find any vacuum leaks
No knocking or tapping noises whatsoever


Ok so I basically am after some help here. Whether it be timing? Fuel? I am not sure. If anybody can help me diagnose it, that would be muchly appreciated.

Cheers guys.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 12:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 5889

Joined: 2nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: '14 Grand Cherokee

Location: Port Lincoln
SA, Australia

try changing the fuel filter.

 

_________________

11/93 ED OPT20 GLi | Full Boat Spec

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 12:51 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 72

Joined: 11th Apr 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: XR6

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Sound like ECU problem are they aftermarket ECU?

 

_________________

Car Body: EBII 92 XR6
Engine: AUII 2001 VCT XR6
Gearbox: EF T5 Manual
Diff: 3:45 LSD
Cams: Standard
ECU: MicroTech LT10S
Dyno: 149.8rwkw (200.8rwhp)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 12:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I was just thinking it might be fueling related - if it has 40p's then perhaps it also has a Cam etc : And may not have had the ecu tuned?

Have you checked the O2 sensors? - if they arent working, then the ECU wont be able to tune around any engine mods.

Nigel
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:34 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 160

Joined: 28th Mar 2005

Ride: EF Falcon Futura

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

yeah, well its acting like a vacuum leak. But there is none whatsoever I can find.

Idle is just up and down like a pendulum.

Will try fuel filter.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 2:16 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 160

Joined: 28th Mar 2005

Ride: EF Falcon Futura

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Hi guys,

Just got off the phone to the previous owner who has advised me that the complete motor was out of an AU.....

What parts do I look out for with regards to, if they were not changed with the AU motor, they will make it run like s**t?

First thing i think of is the Dizzy.. The AU has coil packs doesnt it? THey may have fudged the dizzy...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 2:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Watch out for the Exhaust Manifolds... If the EB ones are used with the AU motor the Ignition Leads will die very often.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 2:26 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 160

Joined: 28th Mar 2005

Ride: EF Falcon Futura

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Yeh thanks Nigel. Have already realised that when trying to change spark plugs lol

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 2:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I had an EB Ghia with a TE50 engine in it - same problem. There is one set of leads that doesnt burn out quickly but I cant remember who makes them.

Good luck figuring it out - sounds like a very nice car.

Nigel
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 5:19 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 46

Posts: 221

Joined: 7th Jan 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: F150 EL mont&2001 cobra

Location: Innisfail
QLD, Australia

Sounds like he TPS to me.

 

_________________

Smoken the hides in top gear

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 6:27 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 160

Joined: 28th Mar 2005

Ride: EF Falcon Futura

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

TPS? You mean the voltage of it?

Yeah ill check that later on tonight.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 9:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 1093

Joined: 29th Nov 2004

Gallery: 15 images

Ride: BA Ford Fairlane V8

Location: Lower Hunter Valley
NSW, Australia

Have a look at your TPS on the throttle body and see if it is mounted properly. I remember I had file down the small blade that the TPS slides over when I fitted my explorer and AU throttle body on my wagon.

 

_________________

Interested in a fair go for the Hunter-New England area of NSW?

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 11:17 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 160

Joined: 28th Mar 2005

Ride: EF Falcon Futura

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Ok guys, changed Dizzy cap, rotor and fuel filter, and its at about 97% now..

Now, above 5300rpm at WOT, there is a little hickup. Also, power delivery feels very linear(maybe im used to driving the r33 skyline, not sure). But it feels like it dies in the top end.

So I may suss out the air inlet sensor. Looking under the inlet manifold, there are 2 vac outs, where one is bolted off (This guy was dodge), the other makes its way out around the rear of the motor.

Doesnt smell like its running rich though, but I suppose a Dyno run may fix it...

Well Im a lot happier now. The old girl just needed a service, and still needs a tune by the looks of it.

Cheers guys, you're all very helpful.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 4:11 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 613

Joined: 5th Aug 2007

Location: Ararat
VIC, Australia

Dont expect much outta the stocky windsor over 4,500 rpm....revving to redline does not archive much. Although I am referring to The HO equipped Windsor, I would assume it would not be much difference with Explorer Mani and GT40P heads- considering the 10fwkw difference...
different ball game if your motor is from a AU 2 200KW/220KW though..

Good luck!

 

_________________

EF Ghia 5L V8
BAMk2 XR8 Velocity/Cobra 19's

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 12:21 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 160

Joined: 28th Mar 2005

Ride: EF Falcon Futura

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Does anyone know how to identify what exact AU motor it is?

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 4:19 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names