Fordmods Logo

EL Fairmont Ghia wont start 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 24 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
 Post subject: Re: EL Fairmont Ghia wont start
Posted: Thu Apr 22, 2010 12:17 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 65

Joined: 15th Feb 2010

Ride: Ford Fairlane Ghia

Location: Shoalwater
WA, Australia

thepistonhead wrote:
rwoodhams wrote:
thepistonhead wrote:
Also throw up a picture of your engine, I'm pretty sure fairmonts never came out with 185 windsors from factory.

Agree with previous comments.


Here you go dude.

It has the tickford badge and the 5litre badge on the the side, next to the Ghia badge.

I suspected it (it looked dodgy), so called ford on 13FORD, gave them the VIN. They told me.:

Built Jan 1997, sold June 1997.
Options:
Oil Cooler
Tickford Bodykit



Sorry to say they were incorrect. Probably they just looked at the engine lists for 1997 and mentioned the highest one, as it probably doesn't say on the machine the specification of the engine - just 5.0L V8.

This is what a 185KW windsor looks like - notice the sharp edges compared to your smooth curves (also in a fairmont, but not factory!)

Image


Yeah, I gatherd Ford got it wrong. Interstingly, I was looking at thos intake manifolds on ebay in the US for the Cobra ones, wierd, the intake is on the left and not on the right like we do here..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL Fairmont Ghia wont start
Posted: Thu Apr 22, 2010 12:21 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 65

Joined: 15th Feb 2010

Ride: Ford Fairlane Ghia

Location: Shoalwater
WA, Australia

XR9UTE wrote:
Actually the 165 and 170 are one and the same engine...a stock HO. It was only the exhaust that supposedly gave an extra 5 kw on the 170 engine.... I suspect it's more likely they pick up 5 kw from the fact that all EF-up 5.0's have electric fans.
btw I think there's not enough badges on that guard rwoodhams. :D
You'll probably find that once you've given it plugs and new ignition components the lumpiness at idle will go...they are supposed to be dead smooth. Btw if they are topgun/federal mongrel leads chuck em away and get some proper leads like Eagle,Magnecore,ICE(if you're loaded)or Ford racing.
Nice car!


Yeah too many badges, it came with it.. why the previous owner felt the need to put the 5 litre badge on the side when it clearly says it on the door. Maybe some Northbridge Meth head had it. I'll probably take them off soon.

I just put the EL 16" XR8 rims on it... which gives it a little more of a tarty look.

Cheers for the tips on the leads!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL Fairmont Ghia wont start
Posted: Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:09 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

No wuckers woody,
Hey another WAlien!
It'd probably be covered in dents and have gookified taillights if a f**k meth head had it but I know what you mean :roll:
You should grab a set of 3 piece underdrives from BPT too. Best bang for the buck out there.

btw most all the car type EFI intakes are reversible. The truck ones are not.

Cheers,
Pete.

Last edited by XR9UTE on Thu Apr 22, 2010 3:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL Fairmont Ghia wont start
Posted: Thu Apr 22, 2010 3:17 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 49

Posts: 54

Joined: 27th May 2009

Ride: Ford TE50 Charged

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

If you want a complete dissy plus cap plus rotor plus tfi module and a coil i have them all for you if your intrested. PM me if you need them want to clear our my shed. All items work. Make me an offer.


Regards
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL Fairmont Ghia wont start
Posted: Mon May 03, 2010 2:25 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 65

Joined: 15th Feb 2010

Ride: Ford Fairlane Ghia

Location: Shoalwater
WA, Australia

Hey guys,

Just a big thanks for the help.

I replaced the Cap and Rotor and Coil. Car was immediately smoother.

I replaced the balancer, and man.. that thing was so stuffed... it was about 1cm off the center piece. So it was a matter of time.

Replaced it and the she was smooth as.

I put a 2 1/2 system on it as the other was RS. I didnt want loud, I just wanted higher flow.

Anyway..

I noticed underload that she pinged.. I was like "fecking great". Anyway, I put premium in and it stopped pinging. Thought... hmm timing.

So down to repco again I went.. to pick up a timing light..

Checked and she was 5 degrees's advanced. So put it in EFI Diagnostic Mode (Cheers XR9UTE for the help) and put back to 30 as per the Service Manual.

Anyway, that night, the misses and I took it for a sqirt up to Lancellin. I went to over take.. at 3000rpm.. I had nothing.. no oomph, no go.. put your foot down and it moved ever so slowly. I thought.. hmmm.. I fecked up the timing.. Checked.. nup 30... all good.

So in the morning.. I set it back to 35... and bang power again.. from 3k through to 4.5 - 5k revs so freely. and getting that gentle push in the seat. What engine faults are hidden by advancing the timing?

But it seems still sluggish in the lower range.. its like she wants to go.. but cant.. I was changing the rear globes when I noticed a whine coming from the back left.. but it was loud.. I know the pump makes noise.. but its as loud as the exhaust. BZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ So I am thinking fuel pump might be on the way out too.

Any thoughts? Also.. lol.. Where's the MAF?


Thanks again.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL Fairmont Ghia wont start
Posted: Mon May 03, 2010 3:06 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 213

Joined: 14th Sep 2009

Ride: Hanni - BA XR6T

Location: Rosedale
VIC, Australia

The MAF is on the air intake just behind the airbox - the thing with the wire plugged in lol . . . though Im not sure where the MAP is - been looking for mine and I have no Idea :roll:

Cheers
Grant
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL Fairmont Ghia wont start
Posted: Mon May 03, 2010 4:05 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

That pinging could be caused by the dying fuel pump...too lean. Change the fuel filter and the pump.
V8's don't have MAP Grant. MAP sensor on a 4.0L is on the firewall.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL Fairmont Ghia wont start
Posted: Mon May 03, 2010 4:09 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 65

Joined: 15th Feb 2010

Ride: Ford Fairlane Ghia

Location: Shoalwater
WA, Australia

XR9UTE wrote:
That pinging could be caused by the dying fuel pump...too lean. Change the fuel filter and the pump.
V8's don't have MAP Grant. MAP sensor on a 4.0L is on the firewall.


I'm assuming there isnt any diffence between i6 and v8 fuel pump?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL Fairmont Ghia wont start
Posted: Mon May 03, 2010 4:24 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 213

Joined: 14th Sep 2009

Ride: Hanni - BA XR6T

Location: Rosedale
VIC, Australia

XR9UTE wrote:
That pinging could be caused by the dying fuel pump...too lean. Change the fuel filter and the pump.
V8's don't have MAP Grant. MAP sensor on a 4.0L is on the firewall.


:oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:

Well there ya go hahaha im a douche :roll:

Cheers
Grant
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum
cron

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 6:11 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names