Fordmods Logo

engine rebuild ef v8 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

Post subject: engine rebuild ef v8
Posted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 12:07 am 
Fordmods Newbie

QLD, Australia

Hi guy's,

I'm new to Fordmods.com, came across the site by googling ford engine rebuilds.

I have a EF Fairmont V8, I bought the car aound 3 years ago at 116,000 on the clock and now has 180,000. Since I've had it it has been a great car and not much spent on repairs just regular sevices also some wheels lowered and all that stuff.

The issue is that recently the oil gauge has showen low oil when theres plenty in the engine and it seems to be using water at a slow pace also has a miss fire and loss of power, with my very little knowledge of engines I have worked out that probably is the head gasket! I have talk to two mechanics both told me this sounds like the case. First guy told me $1500 to fix casket and clean injecters and look at rebuilding heads possibly at an extra cost. second guy seemd like he knew more about fords and said it could be the gasket but also some other things to check first and could be a whole engine out job and would look at rebuilding bottom up !

To get to the point I want to know some ideas and rough expected prices if I get the whole engine rebuilt bottom up and add some extra HP at the same time?

I'm taking it to the second guy this week so he can tell me exactly what he thinks I can do and cost.

I just want to go see him and have a fair idea of what to ask for and expect, If I could get some replys on What are my best options to get max power at the same time as rebuilding the engine for around $5000 it would be a great help.

Some people have said get rid of it, I just can't let the fairmont go it's too good of a ride and the rest of the car is clean.

Sorry for such a long post.........................

I will also update on the out come as I will be getting this done over the next few weeks.