Fordmods Logo

Fitting 302w into BA 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Fitting 302w into BA
Posted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 6:32 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 5

Joined: 24th Jul 2014

Ride: BA ford

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hi

Building a BA with a 302w manule gearbox and has to be fitted with a std manifold and carby as a speedway race car.

Has anyone ever done anything like this or have any ideas on the best place to get all the odd bit I'll need.


Thanks :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fitting 302w into BA
Posted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 9:17 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 169

Joined: 10th Jan 2014

Ride: BFII Super Pursuit

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Can it be AU instead?

 

_________________

It's always funny until someone gets hurt. Then it's just hilarious.
-Bill Hicks

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fitting 302w into BA
Posted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 9:23 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Hibrowz wrote:
Hi

Building a BA with a 302w manule gearbox and has to be fitted with a std manifold and carby as a speedway race car.

Has anyone ever done anything like this or have any ideas on the best place to get all the odd bit I'll need.


Thanks :)


Are wanting to road register this after the conversion?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fitting 302w into BA
Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 1:46 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 5

Joined: 24th Jul 2014

Ride: BA ford

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Doing a BA for the rear suspension and easy to get parts for..

Wont be registered to go on road as it will be fully stripped out and roll cage welded in it will be a speedway car.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fitting 302w into BA
Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 10:42 am 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

if its just a basic shell no electrics required, you can drop any 302 w into it using au engine mounts and e series or au sump, the ba front suspension and cross member is the same as au, so just run a basic dizzy and a carbi , easy..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fitting 302w into BA
Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 2:32 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 5

Joined: 24th Jul 2014

Ride: BA ford

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

AU engine mounts will work in a BA that makes it a bit easyer.

Other question is what manual gear box and bellhousings the same. I'm not sure if I have been told the right info but are EA EL AU the same.

Or am I better of to go auto like C4 or C6 with a shift in it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fitting 302w into BA
Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 2:48 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

eb to el v8 5 speed can fit but shift postion is about 2" further forward than a au 5 speed, considering its a speedway car I guess that don't matter..
you can use a single rail 4 speed or a top loader as long as the bellhousing has the Windsor bolt pattern..
but you will need to do some modification for the manual pedal and cable unless you use a ba clutch pedal and set the clutch up as hydraulic ..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fitting 302w into BA
Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 3:10 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 5

Joined: 24th Jul 2014

Ride: BA ford

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Ok thanks Troyman :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fitting 302w into BA
Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 3:39 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 5

Joined: 24th Jul 2014

Ride: BA ford

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Sorry is there any difference between a T5 from a 6cyd to a T5 from a V8 ?
Thanks Darren
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Fitting 302w into BA
Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 4:24 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

Hibrowz wrote:
Sorry is there any difference between a T5 from a 6cyd to a T5 from a V8 ?
Thanks Darren


yes, input shafts are different lengths
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 10:23 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names