Fordmods Logo

FMX HELP 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: FMX HELP
Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 9:37 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 22

Joined: 3rd Dec 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: 351 cleveland

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

i got a 351, and i just put another fmx in...
everything is done, but nothing happens, what have i done?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 04, 2004 5:05 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 1

Joined: 1st Dec 2004

Ride: xy gt falcon

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

did you put the torque convertor bolts in??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 04, 2004 9:14 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 22

Joined: 3rd Dec 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: 351 cleveland

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

of course it did. but i drained the oil out of it? and didnt refill it does that matter
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 04, 2004 11:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

you drained the ATF out of it and didnt refill it before trying to drive it????
provided that the converter was drained too, just refill the box, and pray that it's all good

if the converter had enough fluid in it to kick the box over, theres a chance you might've burnt the clutch packs and f**k the box

how the f**k did you come up with the bright idea of trying to drive an automatic car without refilling the box after draining the oil out of it

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 05, 2004 4:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 427

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: xd fairmont

Location: newcastle
NSW, Australia

when filling up after a swap it takes a shat load of oil
, are the linkages right
you should av given it at least a filter change - do you know the history of the trans
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 04, 2005 4:15 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 22

Joined: 3rd Dec 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: 351 cleveland

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I changed the filter, and put oil in it before i tried to drive it.
I just didnt refill the convertor. There isnt any smoke?
The box was in working order when it came out, and has been wrapped in plastic, and sitting in a garage for a year.
It was running 400 hp in a XE 351.
I think the convertor has oil, after idiling for a while its hot, like it has hot oil in it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 04, 2005 10:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 427

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: xd fairmont

Location: newcastle
NSW, Australia

you dont have to fill convertor as long as you c heck trans oil level soon after starting

are the oil lines to the cooler / radiator blocked

is there anything that is held in by the filter , i know a c4 filter holds a spring and poppet in -mayb fmx is similiar
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 9:13 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 22

Joined: 3rd Dec 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: 351 cleveland

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

The latest.... I drained the oil out of the convertor........... BROWN s**t came out,,,, so then i took th pan off to check the oil i put in it, still red, the filter is fine? The oil isnt going into the convertor. So i putoil in the convertor with a hand pump.. Wheel spin about a inch a minute...
The cooler lines now have a few small drops in it..
Could it be a blockage?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 5:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1320

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Looks like someone stole my avatar from FF.com .... :twisted:
I animated that image :wink:

Image
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 10:46 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 427

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: xd fairmont

Location: newcastle
NSW, Australia

im out of ideas , its up to an transmission bloke by the sounds of it, im keen to know what the outcome is so keep me posted
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 2:06 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 22

Joined: 3rd Dec 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: 351 cleveland

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

we been thinking about it, and found a fmx book......
it looks like the stall is broken.. When we fitted it, it wasnt in properly,,,
when i went to tighten the engine bolts up, one of the metal dowels wouldnt slip in, so i forced it by tightening the bolt....

so it looks like i have done damage..... cause the stall isnt straight, the box isnt either.... only by quarter of a inch or so
Going to put old convertor in.. tomorrow...
fingers crossed!!!!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 7:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 427

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: xd fairmont

Location: newcastle
NSW, Australia

i nearly did the same the other day with a 1100 dollar converter but stopped before it was too late
we all learn from our mistakes - i found this out the hard way when i did a big end which trashed the bottem and and cam at the nats sat night - i dont know what ive learnt yet but ill figure it out when i investigate what happened
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: PROBLEM SOLVED
Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 6:38 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 22

Joined: 3rd Dec 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: 351 cleveland

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

well, we droped the box out..... i read a fmx book with my mate ken, who i meet on this site.... he figured out it was the low pressure pump, which is bolted in the bell housing...,,, The large cog was cracked!!!!! not sure how, but it has something to do with me forceing the bell housing bolts in because it wasnt lined up properly!!! so next time a dowel wont line up... dont force it!!!!
thanks for ya s help!!!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 7:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 503

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: NL 347, Landau

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

When you do FMX's (all auto's actually) you need to spin the torque converter over until it clicks into the drive spline and then the front pump spline. If you don't get it on the front pump spline (which is the deepest one) you will damage the front pump (which you have done). Done it myself - cost me a front pump on my FMX and a 3500 Dominator converter.
Shane

 

_________________

Weapons of choice
1998 NL Fairlane by Tickford 033
1996 NL Fairlane Ghia 347
1992 NC Fairlane Ghia 5.0
1974 Landau
1974 LTD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 9:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 64

Posts: 3552

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Power: 482 rwkw

Location: Penrith
NSW, Australia

MrLandau wrote:
When you do FMX's (all auto's actually) you need to spin the torque converter over until it clicks into the drive spline and then the front pump spline. If you don't get it on the front pump spline (which is the deepest one) you will damage the front pump (which you have done). Done it myself - cost me a front pump on my FMX and a 3500 Dominator converter.
Shane


YES exactly...Live and learn Hmmmm

 

_________________

As in ZOOM 126 edition
331 Dart block,3.25/ 4340 steel crank, Oliver rods,TFS ported track heat heads, TFS track heat inlet Twin SC61 turbo's
Project 1UZ-EF has started.. S475 Turbo 4.0 V8 Mustang Celica.....

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 6:09 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names