GT40X spring machining 

Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

Post subject: GT40X spring machining
Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 9:18 am 
Stock as a Rock

Ride: AU2 XR8

NT, Australia

hi guys, i'm a newbie.

i am currently in the states and am going to purchase a set of FMS GT40X alloy heads complete...so much cheaper in US (US$989set) :D i know there are better heads out there (AFR, TFS), but i am keeping with the GT40/tickford theme. plus they are a good set of heads. i will be porting lower intake.

however, i am going to get a little bit of porting/clean-up done to heads. but are the std single Gt40 springs good enough for say a E cam, TFS2, 2031. i am thinking maybe i need dble springs.

will machining need to be done? also i am assuming that the 58cc heads have more compression than the 63cc

cheers

also, any thoughts on these heads

i wish to be a ring on a maidens hand so when she wipe herself i see the promised land.

Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 9:26 am 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 16 images

Ride: F350

QLD, Australia

Mate, I am pretty sure the springs are good for any Ford Racing cam, but look in the catalogue, its all there, or the guys you buy from will know.

Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 12:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Ride: AU XR8

NSW, Australia

You really need to know which cam you will be running before you decide on springs.

The std springs are too light over the nose for the 2030/2031. From memory, I think thestd springs are 110lbs closed (@ 1.80" installed) and about 270lbs (@ 0.500" lift). The 2030 needs more like 340+ open...

Spring machining is pretty straightforward. You'll save yourself some cash if you disassemble the heads first. The std spring cups are pressed on, so they are a bit of a prick to remove (I cut a groove in them with a small stone on a die grinder, then cracked them off with a chisel).

Make sure you buy new spring cups or locators with your new springs/retainers/locks.