Fordmods Logo

Hi there, newbie here. 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

Post subject: Hi there, newbie here.
Posted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 7:53 am 
Oompa Loompa

NSW, Australia

Hi everybody, just joined this site, and have just purchased a 03 Fairmont ghia with the 5.4lt, It is a great piece of machinery, one of the best cars i have owned yet. And to make it even better i picked it up for only $15000!!! I jumped on it when i saw it 8-)

Anyways, i was just wondering what some are, that i could do to my new toy. I have planned a BF GT body kit, with bonnet buldge. A little lip spoiler on the rear. Will be put on airbags, i need this to get up my driveway so dont flame me please :lol: , the usual stuff like tint the windows, black tail lights etc i will be doing aswell.

But just want to know what can be done performance wise?

Exhaust/headers- i will be getting this, just not sure what to get, as i want it to rumble, but i also want it quite as it will be used as a company car and i dont want to be deafening customers when they are in the car :twisted:

so what can i do to get it going a little better?

Also i cant find the info anywhere, but does anyone know if it came out with LSD, or is it a single? also wish to know the ratio of it.

Thanks in advance.

5.4 Mont Ghia

2002 5.4 Fairmont Ghia

Posted: Mon Mar 03, 2008 10:03 am 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 15 images

Ride: BA Ford Fairlane V8

NSW, Australia

The biggest killer of performance is the restrictive intake piping on the 3V V8. You need to get a rubber elbow to replace the crushed black plastic elbow attached to your throttle body. A bluepower pod-in-a-box, like something from aussie car enhancements, will wake your beast up. A set of extractors and a good exhaust should also be on the cards and once these have been fitted, a flash tune can be done to make the most of what you have done to the intake and exhaust. Good for 230kW at the rears.. Great motor the 3V.