Fordmods Logo

mafless windsor? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: mafless windsor?
Posted: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:34 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 46

Joined: 18th Jan 2009

Ride: ed

Location: central west nsw
NSW, Australia

just wondering has anyone gone mafless with a efi windsor? i know the ecu needs the air flow meter to sense engine load but is it possible to install a map sensor into it instead and still retain the std computer(or with a chip)?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: mafless windsor?
Posted: Sun Mar 01, 2009 9:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 3763

Joined: 25th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EFII 5.8 NOS TerroristGhia

Power: 274 rwkw

Location: Sydney Australia
NSW, Australia

In a word. NO
Aftermarket computer and MAF is gone.
Check my gallery
Brett

 

_________________

The Terrorist ED Retired due to RUST.
The TerrosistGhia, EF Ghia 351 EFI 5 Speed.
Millennium Falcon, Sleeper EL DOHC 6 Speed Manual EFI LPG
Member#1131
I didn't Vote for Multiculturalism, DID YOU!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: mafless windsor?
Posted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 12:10 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 150

Joined: 10th Mar 2008

Ride: ED EF and AU V8s

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

well depends

the 80s EFI windsors used a map on the f-series and mustangs, so no MAFS

but arnt sequential injection i dont think

 

_________________

Too many cars atm

ED sprint
EF Fairmont V8
AU ghia V8

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: mafless windsor?
Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 12:48 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 1780

Joined: 31st Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 07 BF mk2 E-gas wagon + eb 5.0

Power: 174 rwkw

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

mine is mafless. runs microtech ecu.

 

_________________

eb v8: low loud and fast. just how a v8 should be. i guess the big question is, is it fast enough...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: mafless windsor?
Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 1:03 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 1085

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: BF XR Turbo

Location: Castle Hill
NSW, Australia

mines mafless also.. running a megasquirt..
if you go aftermarket you dont actually even need a map sensor. mine is tuned in alpha-n ie no map or maf, it uses rpm vs tps to calculate a load table. however id only ever use this setup if you really need to.. (8 throttle bodies for example).



-mitch

 

_________________

BF XR6T 6spd Auto. 60lb injectors, Hybrid Cooler, Custom Piping, Custom Surge Tank, Actuator.

12.3 @ 114

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: mafless windsor?
Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 8:45 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 1780

Joined: 31st Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 07 BF mk2 E-gas wagon + eb 5.0

Power: 174 rwkw

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

i don't know how microtech works, so can't tell you how its been set up. i still have the factory ecu there but now that i've just changed to manual, i don't think its doing a whole lot.

if you are looking for a ecu to run mafless, microtech seems fairly primitive although it does a great job on mine. the only issue i have is cold start which seems to be a feature of microtech according to a lot of other users. its mainly used on jap stuff and rotors. i have no closed loop function on mine either but given i have 3.9diff gears, its never going to be a highway car. i can still get close to dipping under 15L/100km with ave speed around 40, which is reasonable.

 

_________________

eb v8: low loud and fast. just how a v8 should be. i guess the big question is, is it fast enough...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: mafless windsor?
Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 6:54 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 64

Posts: 225

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Ride: EDV8 Fairmont

Location: perth
WA, Australia

Changed from EECIV to Motec M800, using MAP & TPS.
Converted the guts of the dizzy to cam sensor , added crank angle sensor, replaced coil with individual GenIII coils mounted on rocker covers.
A hell of a lot more responsive.
Richie

 

_________________

1993 ED F/mont 5.0L, Auto, Edelbrock RPM's, CompCam XE276HR, Crane Gold Race 1.7's, Edelbrock Performer, 75mm T/B, MAP, 42lb , GenIII coils, PH4000's , Twin 2.5", Thermos & underspeeds, 3.7 LSD, 2800 stall and MoTec M800, 372fwhp @ 5400rpm & 387 ft-lb @ 4400 rpm.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: mafless windsor?
Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 7:11 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

You cannot reprogram a MAF EEC to use a MAP sensor. Of course there is no reason to unless you have eight throttles without a common plenum.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 9:37 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names