Fordmods Logo

Missing power??? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Missing power???
Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 5:04 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 1204

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia V8 Turbo

Power: 303 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hey guys after spending quite a lot of money, my setup isn't producing the power that it should and has been proven many times by the AU boys and some E series boys. The current setup is as follows:

T series GT40P heads TFS1 cam
Explorer manifold 1.72 YT roller rockers
65mm throttle body Double row timing chain
75mm Pro M maf Iridiums
24lb injectors 8mm Induction Leads
2 1/2" exhaust Pacemaker extractors
standard ecu (ghia) Double valve springs, lock & retainers

All done down at SVO. Here's a graph of a dyno run which produced 152.3rwkw, and I have seen this sort of setup get anywhere from 175rwkw to 190rwkw, so where's my missing power?

One thought that i've had, not sure if it would cause such a lack in power, is the fact that I have the standard EGR still there, which i think is 55mm from standard which would be a restriction. Also for the intake, I have the EL GT snorkel and the rest is standard intake....is the EL intake possibly not up to the task of delivering enough air, although these minor changes I don't think would get me 30 odd rwkw....if not, i've run out of thoughts of what it may be, or could it just be a tune?

Any help or thoughts would be great, cheers!!

Image

 

_________________

EL Fairmont Ghia V8 Turbo 303rwkw
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 7:25 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 3763

Joined: 25th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EFII 5.8 NOS TerroristGhia

Power: 274 rwkw

Location: Sydney Australia
NSW, Australia

Dude, Looking at your graph, it is running excesively rich which is where your power has gone. Also it would help to get the EGR machined to 65mm to match the TB. I would suggest an aftermarket computer or a unichip/chip replacement to get those AFR's back in the mid to high 12's.
That seems to be where your power has gone
Brett

 

_________________

The Terrorist ED Retired due to RUST.
The TerrosistGhia, EF Ghia 351 EFI 5 Speed.
Millennium Falcon, Sleeper EL DOHC 6 Speed Manual EFI LPG
Member#1131
I didn't Vote for Multiculturalism, DID YOU!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 7:35 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 655

Joined: 9th Jan 2005

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Build# 499 BF F6 TYPHOON DEJA VU

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

oi david, i think you should re spray you car , to sparkling that should give you extra power, all jokes aside, i think you should take it back to the place you got it done, and get it re tuned, the cam could be out, have you got adjustable gears in your car, or even change the EGR see if that does anything,, if not take it right back, and say , listen here s**t fix it :P

 

_________________

232.5 RW KILLER WASPS

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 9:13 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 696

Joined: 15th May 2006

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: ba

Location: Boronia
VIC, Australia

umm i think i saw your car ther!!!! umm try a new ecu or chip:)

 

_________________

Ba Stock As A Rock

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 11:33 am 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Offyaguts,

Definitely change out that small EGR spacer and get yourself an adjustable fuel pressure reg. Looks like the Pro-M is making things a little on the rich side. Drop your fuel pressure back a smidge to get you into the 12.8:1 range and you should pick up the power that's missing. If you think your air intake is restrictive try running with the lid off on the dyno.
BTW what's your catch code?

Cheers,
Pete.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 2:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 1204

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia V8 Turbo

Power: 303 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Thanks Brett - i've replied to your pm

Pete - purple....never!!! They'll think i'm a girlie-man. Not too keen to take it back yet cause if they start ripping into it it may cost me more $$ which I have not got at the moment. I want to try and fix the small few things that I have suspicions about first.

EBTS50 - a chip will definately help, but I was trying to hold off for the cappa flash tune for the EEC-V

Other Pete (XR9UTE) - the dyno run was done with the airbox lid up. EGR spacer will be milled out or replaced with a spacer asap and also I sold a kirban adjustable fuel pressure a while ago cause i didn't think i would need it

Thanks for the reaplies guys - a few things to try out

 

_________________

EL Fairmont Ghia V8 Turbo 303rwkw
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 4:49 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

offyaguts wrote:
Other Pete (XR9UTE) - the dyno run was done with the airbox lid up. EGR spacer will be milled out or replaced with a spacer asap and also I sold a kirban adjustable fuel pressure a while ago cause i didn't think i would need it

Thanks for the reaplies guys - a few things to try out


Ok put it back down and try it.
Buy the Kirban back.
What's ya catch code?

Pete.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 5:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 1204

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia V8 Turbo

Power: 303 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I think the first run was done with the airbox lid down and got pretty much the same result. I will have to send NZ a message and see if he is using it, last time I heard he was playing around with fuel pressure.

Catch code is 96DA-12A650-GC

 

_________________

EL Fairmont Ghia V8 Turbo 303rwkw
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 9:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 696

Joined: 15th May 2006

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: ba

Location: Boronia
VIC, Australia

try get it back

 

_________________

Ba Stock As A Rock

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 10:38 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 395

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BF II XR6 Turbo Ute

Location: Melb
VIC, Australia

by a 6 :P

 

_________________

No dose No Care

P.B of 12.2@118 with more in it!!!!

Formerly known as ebturb

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 31, 2006 12:44 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 259

Joined: 4th Apr 2006

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 2002 XR8 manual

Location: Laurieton
NSW, Australia

ebturb wrote:
by a 6 :P


Spend more money... to downgrade to a 6cyl? :? ... Funniest thing ive heard all day... lol

 

_________________

AU XR8 manual.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 31, 2006 12:49 am 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

orloxsis wrote:
ebturb wrote:
by a 6 :P


Spend more money... to downgrade to a 6cyl? :? ... Funniest thing ive heard all day... lol

Me too, especially since I seem to remember ebturb quite liking my 5L when I took him for a spin in it :lol:
Edited to not sound gay

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 31, 2006 1:42 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 8590

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: AU Fairlane 5.0, KE Laser, 01 Kw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

hahaha nice one Jared.
Since he went for a spin in "Your Car" he now wants to buy a V8?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 10, 2006 11:45 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 1204

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia V8 Turbo

Power: 303 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Catch code is 96DA-12A650-GC

Did you want to see if it is Tweecer supported?

 

_________________

EL Fairmont Ghia V8 Turbo 303rwkw
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 10, 2006 12:19 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

offyaguts wrote:
Catch code is 96DA-12A650-GC

Did you want to see if it is Tweecer supported?


Yes I'd like to see if we can give support but I havent got a 6DGC binary to be able to tell. I would need to get a bin dump from your EEC offyaguts. Of course you'd need to be able to spare it for a couple of days while you send it to me and back?

Pete.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 3:57 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names