Fordmods Logo

New crane cam, idle probs 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 20 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: New crane cam, idle probs
Posted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 10:39 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 126

Joined: 19th Mar 2005

Ride: xlsv8ute

Location: mundulla
SA, Australia

G'day, just fitted 2031 crane cam with springs to suit in 5ltr 5spd au111 ute. Started tonigth, fired up ok, ran for 5-10 mins between 1500-2500rpm but having trouble to get it to idle. Drove it for about 15kms and wanted to stall at every intersection on the way to town. Got home and still hrd to get it to idle.
Anyone have any clues? or does it need time for the computer to sort it s**t out(standard eec)?
Fuel $1.50 bordertown sa WTF!!!

 

_________________

go the CROWS

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 11:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 661

Joined: 2nd Dec 2004

Ride: AU XR8

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

It will get better. Mine is always s**t for an hour or so if I ever need to reset the battery...

I am running Crane 2030 and stock EEC in an AU1 XR8.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 11:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6432

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Was the TPS removed at all?

 

_________________

5.6L of carbon footprint.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 11:38 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 140

Joined: 12th May 2006

Gallery: 17 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

As Vic said, make sure your TPS is set right and you may need to wind your idle up to about 850/900 for a short time before it settles. You will need to run idle a little above std (down from 850/900 though) to some degree unless you are running an edit/chip.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 11:59 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 126

Joined: 19th Mar 2005

Ride: xlsv8ute

Location: mundulla
SA, Australia

free347 it idles JUST with effort at 700rpm so will try it at 800-900rpm while it settles down.
Vic, i didnt remove TPS, just cleand throttle body out of buildup and unplugged it of course to remove top manifold.
cheers chris

 

_________________

go the CROWS

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 12:10 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 1204

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia V8 Turbo

Power: 303 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

ISC plugged in.....possibly a stupid suggestion but worth a check

 

_________________

EL Fairmont Ghia V8 Turbo 303rwkw
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 12:16 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 140

Joined: 12th May 2006

Gallery: 17 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

hahaha... I've done that before (a few times, MAF too)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 1:06 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 126

Joined: 19th Mar 2005

Ride: xlsv8ute

Location: mundulla
SA, Australia

offyaguts, forgive my ignorance but which plug and what is the "ISC"

 

_________________

go the CROWS

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 11:20 am 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Clearing KAM often fixes this. Dissconnect the battery for at least 15mins.

Pete.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 11:21 am 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

ISC = Idle Speed Valve.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 2:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6432

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

As said above, the standard ECU will need some time to learn the new air / fuel ratio's that have been changed, such as from a cam swap. It may take a few days or a week or maybe 50 - 100km's of driving.

 

_________________

5.6L of carbon footprint.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 2:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 1204

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia V8 Turbo

Power: 303 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

chrisredden wrote:
offyaguts, forgive my ignorance but which plug and what is the "ISC"


Idle speed plug plugs in behind the throttle body, plugs into the barrel looking thing (OSC) - car wont idle properly if its not plugged in

did you get this sorted?

 

_________________

EL Fairmont Ghia V8 Turbo 303rwkw
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 7:00 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 126

Joined: 19th Mar 2005

Ride: xlsv8ute

Location: mundulla
SA, Australia

G,day, yeah i had the idle speed sensor plugged in. i went through all the sensor plugs and double checked. turned the idle up to 900rpm and helped, done 130km's and is getting better. Its chewing the juice tho. I might have to check my rocker tension on number two or that bank as a little rattly. All the roller lifters looked good, didnt pull appart tho. when doing zero lash and tensioning down down rocker on number two exhaust noticed to get zero lash took a bit of tension just to get it there. I might have a sticky lifter or collapsed. Will give me the s**t if have to pull apart again.
good onya peoples for the assistance, keep it up
chris

 

_________________

go the CROWS

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 17, 2006 1:05 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 64

Posts: 3552

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Power: 482 rwkw

Location: Penrith
NSW, Australia

Check that TPS is under 1 volt... ???
It wil be higher due to higher idle...
It will run rich if TPS is too high...

 

_________________

As in ZOOM 126 edition
331 Dart block,3.25/ 4340 steel crank, Oliver rods,TFS ported track heat heads, TFS track heat inlet Twin SC61 turbo's
Project 1UZ-EF has started.. S475 Turbo 4.0 V8 Mustang Celica.....

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 2:34 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 126

Joined: 19th Mar 2005

Ride: xlsv8ute

Location: mundulla
SA, Australia

EBXR8380 , I have got it to idle at 700rpm now, although very lumpy almost sounds as though its running on seven at idle. checked the TPS voltage at idle and is 1.204volts. should i adjust (turn) the potentiometer (tps) TO GET IT BELOW 1volt at idle or am i way off with my thoughts.
I have a workshop manual on the way, this should stop me asking obvious questions probably. :roll:
cheers chris

 

_________________

go the CROWS

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 11:37 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names