Post subject: New to the v8 scene
Posted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 7:44 pm 
Stock as a Rock

Ride: DF LTD

VIC, Australia

ok, so im new to the whole v8 scene,
iv owned 4s and na/turbo 6s but never had an 8 till now,

few things iv seen while looking about the place and doing my research,

1. what do people mean by 'chip', is that one of those stupid resistors on the airflow meter that apparently give you more HP, or is it something more complex/beneficial?

2. intake setups - so far, on my car iv gone ahead and pulled the top of the box off, it was really restrictive and i gained ALOT of power on doing that alone (running a pod filter of course), but is there something better i could do? it gets alot of heat and it looks rather illegal now... lol

3. intake manifolds - is there something i can replace myn with that wont change TOO much under the hood? i was told i could put an AU one straight on but i think i better make sure of that first...

cheers guys, just trying to learn before i start doing things ill regret

Post subject: Re: New to the v8 scene
Posted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Ride: ef xr8

Power: 229 rwkw

WA, Australia

An AU manifold (commonly called the Explorer) is the best bet. They will flow well for most NA applications.

Intake set ups, its better to use either a panel or pod filter in the stock airbox. Opening a hole at the front of the box is a good idea, getting a cold air feed into the airbox is even better.

Ok, with the chip, anything under $100 is rubbish. Anything with a link to ebay is rubbish (generally). The resister chips for 20 and 30 bux are nothing but a money maker. Generally a tune will set you back 500 and up for a workshop to do it, can be done for less if you have a laptop and your cluey about it.