Fordmods Logo

RELEARNING THE ECU 5.0L EB 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

Post subject: RELEARNING THE ECU 5.0L EB
Posted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 9:40 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

Ride: 5.0l

NSW, Australia

Hi everybody I'm new to fordmods and hope somebody can help me.
I need to reset the ECU in my EB V8 and was wondering what the CORRECT procedure was. Some people say disconnect the battery for half an hour then it should be fine, others say after doing this, that there is a procedure to follow with starting the car for 2 minutes , turning the car off for 2 minutes etc etc...I have set my idle after disconnecting the ISC and then set my TPS to 0.95v.
Also when I give my car a rev in nuetral the revs drop back to about 1200 then after a few seconds they come down slowly to the idle. Is this normal??
Also, How do I put my car in diagnostic mode to do my timing, and what do I line the timing mark against? Photos would be handy.
These must be age old questions that have been asked time and time again, so even if you can direct me to anther thread that answers my question this would be great.
THANKS IN ADVANCE...

Posted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 9:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

QLD, Australia

Clean the throttle body, clean the ISC valve. While doing this, have the battery disconnected.
When this is done, ( if it is an auto ), handbrake on, wheels chocked, no accesseries on, doors shut, start in neutral, and once started, immediately put into drive and let idle for 5 mins, then neutral, 5 mins, then turn on A/C and let idle for 5 mins, then in drive with A/C on for 5 mins.
If it is a manual, start engine with clutch depressed, in neutral, and do as same above, except for putting into gear.

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Posted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 10:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: ED fairmont Ghia 5 litre

NSW, Australia

cjh wrote:
Clean the throttle body, clean the ISC valve. While doing this, have the battery disconnected.