Fordmods Logo

Stupid question...but do E series V8's have a MAP sensor? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Stupid question...but do E series V8's have a MAP sensor?
Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 9:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 451

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 5lt Turbo NC, TE V6 Gemini

Location: Castlemaine
VIC, Australia

The map sensor is mounted on my firewall in my NC V8...whats it for? As long as i can remember it's had a loom going to it but no hose?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid question...but do E series V8's have a MAP sensor?
Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 10:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1043

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

It has a MAF, not a MAP.
The MAF is in the inlet tube after the airbox.

Not sure why youd have a MAP sensor on the firewall for, unless it used to be a six?

 

_________________

1993 ED XR6 5speed Polynesian Green. Project car.

1998 EL XR8 Auto Hot Chilli Red. New daily and project

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid question...but do E series V8's have a MAP sensor?
Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 11:33 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

the v8s have a maf but in early e series v8s also have a bap sensor. thats the one on the firewall.. it measures barametric pressure so theres no vac hose connected..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid question...but do E series V8's have a MAP sensor?
Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 1:28 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 64

Posts: 3552

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Power: 482 rwkw

Location: Penrith
NSW, Australia

TROYMAN wrote:
the v8s have a maf but in early e series v8s also have a bap sensor. that's the one on the firewall.. it measures barometric pressure so theres no vac hose connected..

YEP the EB1 V8 has BAP same as 6 cyl MAP sensor..
As said vented to atmo for baro pressures..

 

_________________

As in ZOOM 126 edition
331 Dart block,3.25/ 4340 steel crank, Oliver rods,TFS ported track heat heads, TFS track heat inlet Twin SC61 turbo's
Project 1UZ-EF has started.. S475 Turbo 4.0 V8 Mustang Celica.....

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid question...but do E series V8's have a MAP sensor?
Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 1:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 451

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 5lt Turbo NC, TE V6 Gemini

Location: Castlemaine
VIC, Australia

Cheers guys!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid question...but do E series V8's have a MAP sensor?
Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 2:23 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 82

Joined: 6th Feb 2009

Ride: 2001 AUII XR6 ute

Location: In the shed
QLD, Australia

any idea if a BAP equipped (EB Series 1?) V8 can be set up to run using the BAP as a MAP with the tune done via a J3 or tweecer?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Stupid question...but do E series V8's have a MAP sensor?
Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 4:19 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

MoffatGhia wrote:
any idea if a BAP equipped (EB Series 1?) V8 can be set up to run using the BAP as a MAP with the tune done via a J3 or tweecer?


No it can't.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 3:34 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names