Fordmods Logo

TPS Plug? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 26 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: TPS Plug?
Posted: Fri Dec 25, 2009 11:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2116

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Gallery: 15 images

Ride: 1999 XHII XR8, 2002 AU Fairmont

Power: 236 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

G'day All,

Just a quick question for yas.
Can anyone tell me which TPS plug is the engine one and which is the transmission one.
Theres one plug in the removable engine harness (in with the injectors) and one in the fixed harness that goes to the MAF etc.
Car is an EL XR8.

Cheers,
Jeff

 

_________________

STREETBUILT RACING
1999 XHII Falcon XR8 Ute 5.0L, TKO600 5spd, KB 2.1L Blower, 6.5psi, 12.2@113mph!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: TPS Plug?
Posted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 8:30 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

The TPS sits on the throttle body so it would be on the engine loom along with the injectors.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: TPS Plug?
Posted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 11:54 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2116

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Gallery: 15 images

Ride: 1999 XHII XR8, 2002 AU Fairmont

Power: 236 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I dont think you understand what im saying.
On an auto 5.0L there are two TPS's which sit on top of the T/B, one for the engine ECU and one for the transmission TCM.
One of the plugs is in the engine harness, the other is in the fixed harness along with the MAF plug.
I want to know which one goes to the TCM and which one goes to the ECU.

 

_________________

STREETBUILT RACING
1999 XHII Falcon XR8 Ute 5.0L, TKO600 5spd, KB 2.1L Blower, 6.5psi, 12.2@113mph!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: TPS Plug?
Posted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 12:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 1079

Joined: 19th May 2005

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: ELXR8 SERIES 2

Location: naracoorte
SA, Australia

if i get down to my shed later today ill have a look at mine for ya.
mines not an auto but ill be able to tell you what loom the TPS on mine goes too.

 

_________________

EL XR8 SERIES 2, 5SPD, HOT CHILLI RED, 200 ODD RWKW OF V8 FUN AND GAMES

EF XR6, 5SPD, HERITAGE GREEN, AU XR6 VCT ENGINE

VL COMMODORE, 5SPD, WHITE

BA XT, AUTO, OFFSHORE BLUE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: TPS Plug?
Posted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 12:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2116

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Gallery: 15 images

Ride: 1999 XHII XR8, 2002 AU Fairmont

Power: 236 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Thanks mate.
Yeah good point though, i might have to get my a*** over to my ute and see which one mine connects to.
Cheers.

 

_________________

STREETBUILT RACING
1999 XHII Falcon XR8 Ute 5.0L, TKO600 5spd, KB 2.1L Blower, 6.5psi, 12.2@113mph!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: TPS Plug?
Posted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 1:05 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 363

Joined: 7th Feb 2007

Ride: BLOWN 347 EB GT/ BF XR6 TURBO

Power: 345 rwkw

Location: eastern creek
NSW, Australia

dude are u running auto computer or manual? if you running manual computer and the auto computer is not attached under the dash will only idle properly with the right one connected and also wont rev properly without it pluged in the right connector easiest way to test without toolsswap them over and rev it u will hear the differance

 

_________________

MY CAR PLZ TAKE A LOOK forums/xtt909-update-t66227.html

DAZFAB MEMBERS ,,,,DAZZLE, EBI347, TERRORISTGHIA, TROYMAN ,SWC, XTT909

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: TPS Plug?
Posted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 1:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2116

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Gallery: 15 images

Ride: 1999 XHII XR8, 2002 AU Fairmont

Power: 236 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Car was an auto.
Now has a 363ci stroker and TKO600.
Wont be running for a month or so as we are finishing it off.
Was just tidying/re-doing engine harness and wanted to cut out the TPS plug that was for the auto as we dont need it anymore.

 

_________________

STREETBUILT RACING
1999 XHII Falcon XR8 Ute 5.0L, TKO600 5spd, KB 2.1L Blower, 6.5psi, 12.2@113mph!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: TPS Plug?
Posted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 3:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

XH5LWEPN wrote:
I dont think you understand what im saying.
On an auto 5.0L there are two TPS's which sit on top of the T/B, one for the engine ECU and one for the transmission TCM.
One of the plugs is in the engine harness, the other is in the fixed harness along with the MAF plug.
I want to know which one goes to the TCM and which one goes to the ECU.
I think I understood, the injector loom will go straight to the ECU where the engine TPS ECU input is, so that plug will go to the TPS sensor closest to the Throttle body. The auto TPS will go via the engine bay loom to the Auto controller.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: TPS Plug?
Posted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 4:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 1079

Joined: 19th May 2005

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: ELXR8 SERIES 2

Location: naracoorte
SA, Australia

hey mate

on my EL the TPS is conected to the injector loom and there is a spare TPS plug on the same loom as the MAF so guessing that would be for the auto trans.

hope that helps ya mate.

 

_________________

EL XR8 SERIES 2, 5SPD, HOT CHILLI RED, 200 ODD RWKW OF V8 FUN AND GAMES

EF XR6, 5SPD, HERITAGE GREEN, AU XR6 VCT ENGINE

VL COMMODORE, 5SPD, WHITE

BA XT, AUTO, OFFSHORE BLUE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: TPS Plug?
Posted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 4:14 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Posts: 341

Joined: 5th Dec 2009

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

The bottom tps sensor goes to the injector loom, the top sensor looks to go to the back of the motor via the rocker cover and to the harness at the back of the motor.
This is my eb v8 auto :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: TPS Plug?
Posted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 12:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2116

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Gallery: 15 images

Ride: 1999 XHII XR8, 2002 AU Fairmont

Power: 236 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Thanks Millard, exactly what i wanted to know, cheers ;)

 

_________________

STREETBUILT RACING
1999 XHII Falcon XR8 Ute 5.0L, TKO600 5spd, KB 2.1L Blower, 6.5psi, 12.2@113mph!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: TPS Plug?
Posted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 2:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 1079

Joined: 19th May 2005

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: ELXR8 SERIES 2

Location: naracoorte
SA, Australia

no worries buddy, anytime.

ps, i like your mates red ELXR8, Dave sent me a link to his thread on the perth site.
thats one tough street car :twisted:

 

_________________

EL XR8 SERIES 2, 5SPD, HOT CHILLI RED, 200 ODD RWKW OF V8 FUN AND GAMES

EF XR6, 5SPD, HERITAGE GREEN, AU XR6 VCT ENGINE

VL COMMODORE, 5SPD, WHITE

BA XT, AUTO, OFFSHORE BLUE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: TPS Plug?
Posted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 5:40 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 1700

Joined: 24th Nov 2005

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: DCII LTD V8

Location: Dunedin
New Zealand

milo 302 wrote:
The bottom tps sensor goes to the injector loom, the top sensor looks to go to the back of the motor via the rocker cover and to the harness at the back of the motor.
This is my eb v8 auto :D


This is odd, i noticed this on my car too, when it was auto using the auto ECU, the auto sensor plugged into the injector loom, but when i put in the manual ecu i got no reading from the tps so i swapped them over and got a reading, it must change from auto to manual or something? My tps now runs off the injector loom.

 

_________________

1993 LTD V8 Oregon 5 speed "click me"

Trick Flow Heads/Cam/Intake, Crane Ignition, T5Z Trans.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: TPS Plug?
Posted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 12:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1320

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Jeff, if your running the factory EEC, you might need to replicate a couple of signals from the trans ecu to the engine ecu, as timing and idle speeds will be affected if signals are missing.
You need to feed the ECU gear position info (for torque reduction, if it thinks its in reverse or a sensor fault), as well as trans link data for the idle speed (fans may stay on and will idle high without it)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: TPS Plug?
Posted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 1:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2116

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Gallery: 15 images

Ride: 1999 XHII XR8, 2002 AU Fairmont

Power: 236 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

66 coupe, could those things not be tuned out of it when a switch chip or twEECer is added?
If not, an obvious alternative would be to just get a manual ECU and then add a switch chip from there, correct?

 

_________________

STREETBUILT RACING
1999 XHII Falcon XR8 Ute 5.0L, TKO600 5spd, KB 2.1L Blower, 6.5psi, 12.2@113mph!!

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 8:09 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names