Fordmods Logo

What should a MAF look like?? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 26 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: What should a MAF look like??
Posted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 9:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 613

Joined: 5th Aug 2007

Location: Ararat
VIC, Australia

Hey guys, I took off the MAF just to check it out, whats all this "hotwire" stuff you talk about?? Inside mine theres nothing at all just hollow- also in the repair book it looks as though there is a gauze like fly screen stuff in one end. mine nothing.

She cant be running too bad though currently returning 16.2 litres per 100k's on lpg. Any ideas??

 

_________________

EF Ghia 5L V8
BAMk2 XR8 Velocity/Cobra 19's

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 9:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1302

Joined: 10th Nov 2006

Location: Allmods suck so do viruses
WA, Australia

16.2 sounds about right

maybe 14.4 would be better

 

_________________

Your all a bunch of f**k Heads delete this f**k account stupid useless C*** who run this site cant even sell something useless wankers

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 9:50 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 50

Posts: 3227

Joined: 12th Feb 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 113 rwkw

Location: your mums
NSW, Australia

try unpluging the plug off the maff and see if it runs if it dont run its doing its job, but if you un plug it its been buypassed some how

 

_________________

BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 9:51 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Maybe 2.2 would be better too? Top reply LOL
LPG wouldn't be using MAF anyway, would have no need for load sensing using a simple mixer.
Ignition would though now that I use my head :P

What does it run like on petrol?
I've never seen inside a stock 5L MAF so I've got no idea what you should be looking for :P
I thought they had one large hole, and then a smaller hole where the hotwire was?

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 10:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 613

Joined: 5th Aug 2007

Location: Ararat
VIC, Australia

well steady, I cant leave ther house (kids asleep missus at netball) but I just unplugged it and it idled fine. no miss at all, on lpg

but On petrol I dont run it much coz as soon as you give it like 3,000rpm u get the timing chain noise (tuned for gas I assume, petrol to get ya outta trouble) could this also mean MAF is f**k when run on petrol?
but must run for ignition on lpg yeah???

so the maf inside has groves outta it in the centre, but no wires through the middle or anything.....just a hole.

 

_________________

EF Ghia 5L V8
BAMk2 XR8 Velocity/Cobra 19's

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 10:13 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 161

Joined: 30th Sep 2007

Ride: XB ute, ED mont

Location: Kalamunda
WA, Australia

you have to unscrew the black sensor bit with torq screws then you will see the hotwires, if dirty clean with electrical contact cleaner, NOT Brakeclean or Carby Cleaner.

 

_________________

ED Fairmont, XR lights, AU tickford 200kw, GT-P 18's, TwEEcer, 230kw, KAAZ LSD.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 10:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 613

Joined: 5th Aug 2007

Location: Ararat
VIC, Australia

so its normal for the car to idle fine with the plug off???

 

_________________

EF Ghia 5L V8
BAMk2 XR8 Velocity/Cobra 19's

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 10:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 2688

Joined: 21st Oct 2007

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane + G220

Power: 143 rwkw

Location: Lake Macquarie
NSW, Australia

Car will run on LPG with the MAF unplugged. The reason I know this is my lane was recently running rough as guts on petrol (switching to petrol from gas whilst driving), and when I tried to start it on petrol it just wouldn't run. But on gas it was running normally. I serviced the lane on the weekend and to my surprise, I found the MAF plug had come loose somehow. As soon as I plugged it back in, it was back to normal on petrol and gas.
As for the "hot wires" in the MAF, you need to remove the MAF from the airbox lid and you will see a small chamber. If you look closely inside the chamber (may need a torch) you will see two small wires which look like tiny electronic resistors (may be resistors :? ).

 

_________________

Image
E-Series Fairlane/LTD? forums/post746329.html#746329
Mick's Garage forums/viewtopic.php?t=65504

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 3531

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 25 images

Ride: 93 Maverick LWB/S2 LWB Delica

Power: 75 rwkw

Location: uoʇǝlƃuıs lʍoq ʇsnp
NSW, Australia

I have seen an NF run idle fine with the plug removed, actually it had been unplugged since a service and only returned a few thousand kms later due to the owner being a p***y foot and sometimes noticing a mild surge/roughness at times, but didn't realise it was like that since last service :lol:

I was such a good mechanic that time :twisted: , hmm drove it in, gave it a rev and thought yep that isn't right, open bonnet, looked around, spotted MAF unplugged, job done, lets have a big test drive at works expense, customer wouldn't have known, he had a switch to cut power to instruments (cunning bastard modified a fuse), we never said anything about it, it was a business car and he would have clocked up some big kms and actually ran out of warranty long before I worked on it.

 

_________________

93 Ford Maverick LWB automatic petrol guzzler (gets stuck where Deli doesn't, big pumpkins :evil:)
97 S2 Mitsubishi Delica LWB (off the road getting v8 transplant) http://tmacmechanical.com.au/

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 12:45 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 402

Joined: 22nd May 2007

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: '03 BA-LTD.

Location: s/e melb
VIC, Australia

my car was pinging so unpluged maf & was fine, a little rich! forgot about it till i did a service & oops, gave hotwire a good clean, put the plug in & good as new...well almost :wink:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 6:28 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 4355

Joined: 14th Dec 2005

Gallery: 36 images

Ride: Fairlane

Location: Newy
NSW, Australia

So to clean hotwire, you must undo torque bits, and its under there? Pulled my maf off the other day with every intent to do this, but then i saw this and i didnt have the torque bits. i F**k hate those things!

 

_________________

The Lane Lives.... Finally!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 12:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 402

Joined: 22nd May 2007

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: '03 BA-LTD.

Location: s/e melb
VIC, Australia

i had the same problem....but with extra care used a cotton bud with sensor cleaner & did it down the sample tube. :roll: do not force the cotton bud or you'll break the hot wire's.....i had alot of carbon buildup on mine.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 6:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 2688

Joined: 21st Oct 2007

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane + G220

Power: 143 rwkw

Location: Lake Macquarie
NSW, Australia

castlegreyskull wrote:
So to clean hotwire, you must undo torque bits, and its under there? Pulled my maf off the other day with every intent to do this, but then i saw this and i didnt have the torque bits. i F**k hate those things!
It's alright benny, you can borrow mine if you like :wink:

 

_________________

Image
E-Series Fairlane/LTD? forums/post746329.html#746329
Mick's Garage forums/viewtopic.php?t=65504

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 7:42 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 4355

Joined: 14th Dec 2005

Gallery: 36 images

Ride: Fairlane

Location: Newy
NSW, Australia

No worries mick! we can have a carton and do some work on the lanes :P

 

_________________

The Lane Lives.... Finally!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 7:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 2688

Joined: 21st Oct 2007

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane + G220

Power: 143 rwkw

Location: Lake Macquarie
NSW, Australia

castlegreyskull wrote:
No worries mick! we can have a carton and do some work on the lanes :P
You bring the carton, I'll bring the Turkey :lol: gobble, gobble, gobble. :P

 

_________________

Image
E-Series Fairlane/LTD? forums/post746329.html#746329
Mick's Garage forums/viewtopic.php?t=65504

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:46 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names