Fordmods Logo

Where's the MAF sensor? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Where's the MAF sensor?
Posted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 4:41 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 50

Joined: 14th Nov 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Fairlane NF(V8)

Location: Rotorua
New Zealand

Gudday,
I've just bought a '95 NF Fairlane. My first V8...Woohoo!
Now, I know all about Jappas and Brit crap....but could you enlighten an ignorant soul as to the whereabouts of the MAF sensor on this thing? :D
A diagram would be good, otherwise instructions are fine.
Trying to track down a hesitation and rough idle problem and one of the things I've been told to check(amongst the common stuff) was the MAF sensor.
Cheers, :wink:
Dan.

 

_________________

My other car is a monkey.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 4:47 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

Its the metal housing thats bolted to the engine side of the airbox lid.

Then there is a rubber pipe that attaches from that to the throttle body.

The maf sensors are in the small back box screwed into the side. You can unscrew it and take it off and VERY CAREFULLY clean the sensors. If they are covered in crud, it can give you the problems you are experiencing.

After my last trip to Auckland, I noticed there was way too many rice burners on the road. Good to see another bloke moving away from them to a real car. :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 6:52 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 50

Joined: 14th Nov 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Fairlane NF(V8)

Location: Rotorua
New Zealand

aaaah sweet. I'll do that in the morning. :D
Yeah....waaay too many jappas on the road! Wanted a car with some character and comfort...not to mention style, some power(although it needs more hehe) and it feels safe!!
Cheers for that. :lol:
D.

 

_________________

My other car is a monkey.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 8:18 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 50

Joined: 14th Nov 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Fairlane NF(V8)

Location: Rotorua
New Zealand

Grrr! :evil: The bastards have it screwed on with star drive screws with a stalk in the centre of them!! Great! Gotta go buy one of those specially for it now. "sigh"

 

_________________

My other car is a monkey.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:10 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

I know d**k Smith or something similar sell a kit with the security torx screws in it. Comes in a little red holder, has about 30 to 40 bits in it.

They normall go for about $12 to $15.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:27 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 50

Joined: 14th Nov 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Fairlane NF(V8)

Location: Rotorua
New Zealand

Sweet. Thanks. :)

 

_________________

My other car is a monkey.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 11:28 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4323

Joined: 17th Jan 2006

Ride: Soarer 2.5GT-T

Location: Cranbourne
VIC, Australia

danboy wrote:
Yeah....waaay too many jappas on the road! Wanted a car with ... some power(although it needs more hehe) and it feels safe!!


You wanted power? And you bought an E series windsor? hehehe.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 12:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

Soulfire wrote:
danboy wrote:
Yeah....waaay too many jappas on the road! Wanted a car with ... some power(although it needs more hehe) and it feels safe!!


You wanted power? And you bought an E series windsor? hehehe.


Yeah he did, and reliable power as well, not any of this $2000 for turbo that only lasts 5000km and only gives 200kw :roll:

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 4:43 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 50

Joined: 14th Nov 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Fairlane NF(V8)

Location: Rotorua
New Zealand

Car only cost me $2800 so I'm not complainin' about the power. I have owned cars with more. And it's a different type of power compared to a jappa is what I meant. Easy and cheap to make more. :D lol.

 

_________________

My other car is a monkey.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 19, 2006 2:08 am 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Soulfire wrote:
danboy wrote:
Yeah....waaay too many jappas on the road! Wanted a car with ... some power(although it needs more hehe) and it feels safe!!


You wanted power? And you bought an E series windsor? hehehe.

Shoulda bought a soarer yeah, pull 150rwkw and beat typhoons!

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 19, 2006 9:05 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 50

Joined: 14th Nov 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Fairlane NF(V8)

Location: Rotorua
New Zealand

Steady ED wrote:
Soulfire wrote:
danboy wrote:
Yeah....waaay too many jappas on the road! Wanted a car with ... some power(although it needs more hehe) and it feels safe!!


You wanted power? And you bought an E series windsor? hehehe.

Shoulda bought a soarer yeah, pull 150rwkw and beat typhoons!


Oh yeah. And the prestige of owning a soarer too. Woohoo. I wish I could put sarcasm on the screen. :lol: hehe.

D.

 

_________________

My other car is a monkey.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 19, 2006 11:28 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

No need to remove the hotwire for cleaning.....Leave it in place and squirt down the sample tube with carby cleaner.

Pete.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 12:08 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 50

Joined: 14th Nov 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Fairlane NF(V8)

Location: Rotorua
New Zealand

XR9UTE wrote:
No need to remove the hotwire for cleaning.....Leave it in place and squirt down the sample tube with carby cleaner.

Pete.


Ah cool! Thanks. :)

D.

 

_________________

My other car is a monkey.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 5:32 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names