Fordmods Logo

ea trans to xf 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: ea trans to xf
Posted: Mon Mar 13, 2006 7:26 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 5

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

I have 1987 xf fairmont multipoint ghia, trans is stuffed is it possible to change over with a trans from an ea multipoint
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 13, 2006 9:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

3 or 4 speed?

personally, chuck a manual in it

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 13, 2006 9:41 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 273

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Westie Baby
NSW, Australia

T5 would go nicely!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 13, 2006 9:42 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 273

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Westie Baby
NSW, Australia

Pretty sure all Multipoints where 4 speed and are controlled electronicly unless your looking at rewiring a few things and running ea ecu it would not be worth it. Whack a manual in mate!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 1:24 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 5

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

the only prob is i need to get car running asap so the conversion to a manual or a 4 speed is not realy an option at this stage (the car has a 3 speed)

thanx
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 1:34 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

an EA 3 speed should, i repeat *should* fit, but a manual conversion on an XF wouldnt really take that much longer...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 1:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 11103

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: AU III XR8 Pursuit 250 ute

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

can you fit a Borg Warner 4 Speed single rail? they pretty much give them away these days...
If you want a free 3 speed EA auto, I've got one sitting here with the torque converter. pitty transport would be a b**ch.

 

_________________

Heaps of performance EF/L parts for sale, including supercharged VCT motor!

2002 Ford AU Series III Falcon XR8 Pursuit 250 ute - 5.6L of V8 Windsor!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 1:49 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 5

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

thanx for the replies as i said in my previous reply I dont really have time on my side(and cash) and with having the ea box floating around it proably will be the way to for now thanx guys and top forum
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 1:54 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

no worries mate... be sure to hang around
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 8:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 9453

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Fordrunner 5.0 Turbo

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

Why are people bagging the EA 3 speed? Its stonger than the XF unit (only by a bees d**k but its still stronger), and you can get them for peanuts.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 22, 2006 9:34 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 12

Joined: 10th Mar 2006

Ride: EA

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

the EA 3speed will fit not a problem as it uses the same case as the XF, the 4speed WONT fit without an XG ute tunnel... if you want to use the 4speed change the tunnel and it also has to be wired up with an XG loom... the 3 speed all you need to do is change the bell housing... hope this helped...

Chris

 

_________________

Brakes only slow you down!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 23, 2006 8:38 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 73

Joined: 13th Mar 2005

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

yeah a 3 speed ea box will fit but you will need to use the xf bell housing
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 02, 2006 3:19 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 196

Joined: 30th Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EBII XR6 /ED XR6 /EF XR6

Power: 154 rwkw

Location: gold coast
QLD, Australia

cthawes wrote:
yeah a 3 speed ea box will fit but you will need to use the xf bell housing


in saying that is it the same for xf box to ea? i have posted this question elsewhere but got no replies, i have xf ghia which i am doing a t 5 conversion on and was wondering if my c 4 and stally will go into my ea? don't wont to chuck the c 4 out it full v 8 clutches, stage 2 shift kit and 2500 stall reackon it would go nice in my ea with a good cam.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 3:53 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 5

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

Thanks for all your input, but in the end decided on another xf trans.(thank god it only took three hours a couple of mates and a slab of Pale)
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 10:06 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names