Fordmods Logo

EB lsd into XF 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

Post subject: EB lsd into XF
Posted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 2:13 pm 
Oompa Loompa

Ride: 95 EF XR8

QLD, Australia

I've got an 85 XF S'pack and I've also got an eb fairmont ghia lsd with disc brake rear end sitting in the shed. I'd like to put the lsd into my XF. I've never done a diff install before and just wondered if anyone can give me some pointers? The original brakes are drums and i'd like to fit the new diff and axle with the disc brakes. How hard is it and what else is required to get this setup to work correctly? Also my XF is running heavy duty rear suspension that has coil springs and leaf springs. I'm thinking of ditching the leafs and putting lowered springs in as the new axle assembly is coil spring setup and not leaf. Would this be a problem?
At this stage any help would be appreciated thanks.

Post subject: Re: EB lsd into XF
Posted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 4:17 pm 

Ride: AU XR8

NSW, Australia

what do you mean it has coil and leaf springs???

if its a xf sedan it should have coil suspension that is the same set up as an eb..
eg 4 link with wats link...
wagon and ute have leaf springs..

otherwise it should bolt straight in the only issues would be tail shaft flange is different to eb but you can swap them over.the lower trailing arm bushes change from xf/ea/eb1 and eb2 change to a wider bush. so what series eb is the diff from??
and the brake lines might be different but im sure they are also pretty much the same..

Posted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 6:26 pm 
Oompa Loompa

QLD, Australia

Thanks for the quick reply mate.
It's a sedan but it definately has leaf springs and what look to be coil springs over the shockies as well. I was led to believe it may be something to do with the tow pack thats fitted??
Not sure what series eb it was either unfortunately, the bloke who gave it to me just said eb.