Fordmods Logo

EF model 3.9L into an XE... but can it be done? 

Page 1 of 2 [ 23 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

Post subject: EF model 3.9L into an XE... but can it be done?
Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 9:00 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

Ride: fALCON

VIC, Australia

Hey there everybody. Before anyone gets started, I am a newbie... so go easy one me :oops:

Anyways, I have this old EF falcon sitting in my yard, and this old XE as well. The XE has been off the road for about a year and a half now, ever since it got canaried for the [ahem] brightness of the left inside brake light [oink oink]. The EF got it's finer end ripped off by a truck last year, but considering I managed to drive it home afterwards, I'd say that all the running gear is still pretty good. So I gets this idea right: rip the running gear out of the EF and put it into the XE shell, which is still good. Sound mad? Well, please feel free to tell me so... otherwise, if there is anyone out there who could give me some pointers on how I coudl go about this, or have done it themselves, that would be awesome.

FYI: I am an electrical/computer tech by trade, but was brought up smelling petrol from the land of the big blue oval. I can do most things with a car... I suppose I just need to know:

a. if it can be done, and
b. what regulations I need to adhere to in doing it

Nothing is impossible

Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 9:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways

this sounds interesting....would be awes to see...
hehe try taking the dash over aswell....that would be sweet!

Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 9:46 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

VIC, Australia

I've just been perusing the posts in here... I reckon taking over the cluster beats keeping the old one, due to me not having to adapt the old one to suit the loom...