Fordmods Logo

fitting headunit in xe fairmont ghia, 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: fitting headunit in xe fairmont ghia,
Posted: Tue May 10, 2011 9:02 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 24

Posts: 12

Joined: 8th May 2011

Ride: Xe fairmont ghoa

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Looking at fitting a new headunit in the fairmont, buuuut, they have the panel right across the front? And only the small part of the cassette showing? How am I meant to get a normal sized headunit in it!!!! :l
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: fitting headunit in xe fairmont ghia,
Posted: Tue May 10, 2011 9:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1507

Joined: 14th Aug 2009

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: BA XT V8

Location: Gosnells, Perth
WA, Australia

take plate out, measure hole for head unit, cut said hole and insert unit then plate over top. should look arlite.

 

_________________

BA XT V8. Ice Mint. 18" Speedys. XR6T LSD. Full Pacemaker twin 2 1/2inch Stainless Steel system. Custom CAI. Black XR interior with white trimming. Powerbond underdrive kit 25%.
13.65@102mph. 2800 hi-Stall.
230RWKW@5250 rpm. 625NM.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: fitting headunit in xe fairmont ghia,
Posted: Tue May 10, 2011 9:34 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 24

Posts: 12

Joined: 8th May 2011

Ride: Xe fairmont ghoa

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

But the toggles are pretty close to the edge of the cassette, I think. I'll have a look tomoz
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: fitting headunit in xe fairmont ghia,
Posted: Tue May 10, 2011 9:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 419

Joined: 16th Jan 2005

Ride: EF Ghia 5.0

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Once apon a time you could buy a new plate with the DIN-sized cutout in it.

Mike

 

_________________

EF Ghia 5.0 - XR8 in a tuxedo....classy, low and loud

Bordeaux Purple, Tickford kit, slammed, 18" BA XR8's, EL Ghia chrome, full leather, Pioneer audio, C&C, ABS, LSD, Crane cam, GT40P heads, high flow cats, Genie extractors, lots of woodgrain, chrome and interior lights!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: fitting headunit in xe fairmont ghia,
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2011 5:02 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 24

Posts: 12

Joined: 8th May 2011

Ride: Xe fairmont ghoa

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

hey, umm, ive bought a new headunit, and am installing it next weekend, what will i need? planning on hooking up my amplifier, but just thougt, the wiring for the headunit, i didnt have a problem in me ef the wiring all matched up straight to the new headunti. will the wires all be the same in the old xe? thanks :)
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 1:58 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names