Fordmods Logo

XC V8 manual conversion 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

Post subject: XC V8 manual conversion
Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 8:43 am 
Oompa Loompa

Ride: XC 1/2 Fairmont Wagon

NSW, Australia

Hi, my name is James and this is my first post to this forum. I have acquired an XC falcon station wagon with a 4.9L v8. The vehicle isn't registered at the moment, but was last registered about a year ago. The engine runs well, however the 3 speed auto gearbox is dead. It was slowly dying, using lots of fluid, and was not very responsive up until it really gave up. I don't know the exact symptoms of it's death (I wasn't driving it), nor do I know much about gearboxes.

I want to get this car back on the road. The options I guess are to either repair the box that's in it or completely replace it. My preferred option is to replace it with a manual gearbox. I don't have any parts to do this, and I have no idea what a job like this would cost, or include. I am not a mechanic, so would have to get it installed professionally. I read some other posts about conversions for a 4.1. Off the top of my head I'd need a gearbox, center console plastics, clutch assembly (hoses, pedal, clutch etc) and various other bits and pieces. Can anyone with some more info or experience clarify what I need to do to do this? I would much prefer a manual gearbox, as the auto is/was a slug. Given I have no parts and have to buy or find everything, and pay for installation is this possible with a budget not much bigger than $1000? Or should I just repair or replace the auto gearbox?

Also, this is less urgent, but my dad hit a dog (the dog was fine), and it smashed the plastic grille. We have looked around and it seems no wreckers in my immediate vicinity have any XC grilles. Anyone with a grille in Sydney, or in the Orange, NSW area who has a grille or knows where I could get one, your info would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 10:48 am 
Getting Side Ways