Fordmods Logo

XD To XH Rust removal. 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

Post subject: XD To XH Rust removal.
Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 2:41 pm 
Parts Gopher

Ride: Falcon Xh

NSW, Australia

So I promised I would post a how to guide on the forum as a contribution for help with a XH2 To AU2 engine swap. (so far no replys) Anyhow. Im a panelbeater by trade and did my trade in the early 80s so did it all the hard way (Fixed things not threw them away). Im Gonna do the sills first see if asnyone likes it then Il do the doors, door shuts, hinges etc,

1. Presuming that the cancer hasnt spread to within 30mm of each end of the sill. this is the easiest way.
2. Rare spares will sell you a rust section XD for about $100. (Top Value)

3. Now get the car jacked up and on stands on the right or left side.

4. Dont be afraid now because this is the moment of truth as to how bad your rust really is. Get out the trusty angle grinder with a wire wheel, and get into it. Remove all the paint and rust especially the very bottom edge of the sill exposing all the spot welds. Things should now appear clearer.

5. Pick a ""High tide mark"" somewhere clean and rust free where you are going to cut the car. Preferably below the crease but it doesnt matter . The same with both ends of the sill front and back.

6. When ur satisfied that you have all the cancer (Dont be shy) Mark the car out, with a black permanent texta.

7. Then grab the new sill and mark it out the same. The easiest way to cut the new sill is with a combination of air shears ($60 Bunnings) and angle grinder. Use the ultra thin cutting discs, and DONT rush. Neatness and attention to detail here will pay off.

8. when you have your new sill. place it on the car where U intend on repairing the rust. Now u can either G cramp vice grip or my preffered method of putting a tack on the sill front and back. (Little ones.)...

9. With a thin texta draw around the rust repair section.

10. Grind, bust off the RRS (Rust repair section).